Arctic eTalks

Arctic eTalks

Arctic eTalks is co-hosted by “The Watch” USNORTHCOM Command Magazine and the Center for Arctic Security and Resilience - University of Alaska Fairbanks and supported by global partners including United States Northern Command, United States European Command, United States Indo-Pacific Command 

Arctic eTalks is a monthly forum for open discussion (non-attribution) on key issues affecting the Circumpolar Arctic for academics, defense and security professionals, and military leaders from Canada, Finland, Iceland, Kingdom of Denmark (Greenland and Faroe Islands), Norway, Sweden, and the United States

Sessions typically run about 90 minutes, with a 30-minute recorded presentation followed by a 60-minute moderated discussion. While the presentation recording is normally posted on the website, the discussion is not. Please ensure to join the event to take part and listen to the Q&A session. 

Please note, when registering, Zoom will send an automated response with your individual link in the text. Some organizational firewalls automatically strip the link from text without warning or indication. Please use your personal email to avoid this if possible. Thank you!


eTalks Hosts and Partners


Arctic Partners Include:

  • Defence Science and Technology Laboratory - United Kingdom
  • George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies
  • Joint Task Force (North) - Canadian Armed Forces
  • Ministry of Defence of the United Kingdom (UK MOD)
  • NATO Strategic Communications Centre of Excellence (StratCom)
  • Nasiffik – Centre for Foreign & Security Policy (Greenland)
  • North American and Arctic Defence and Security Network (NAADSN)
  • Norwegian Institute for Defence Studies (IFS)
  • Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI)
  • Norwich University (NU)
  • Royal Danish Defence College (
  • Ted Stevens Center for Arctic Security Studies
  • United States Coast Guard (Arctic)
  • William J. Perry Center, National Defense University (NDU)

Partner Logo Strip


Upcoming Events



Arctic Defense and NATO Membership

20 March 2024

Janne Kuusela

Director General for Defence Policy - MoD Finland

Past Events


Finland and the Arctic: Finnish Diplomacy and Arctic Cooperation

17 February 2022

Petteri Vuorimäki

Finland Ambassador for the Arctic (SAO) and Antarctic


Kingdom of Denmark in the Arctic: Perspectives from the Danish Joint Arctic Command

20 January 2022

Read Admiral Martin Le-Cour Andersen

Commander, Danish Joint Arctic Command (JACO)


Arctic Security and the Saami Council: Indigenous Perspectives and Interests

16 December 2021

Christina Henriksen

President of the Saami Council, Permanent Participant of the Arctic Council


U.S. Arctic Interests: Managing Security Through Diplomacy

17 November 2021

James P. DeHart

U.S. Coordinator for the Arctic Region, U.S. State Department


The EU and the Arctic: A Discussion of the New EU Arctic Policy

21 October 2021

Ambassador Michael Mann

European Union Ambassador for the Arctic


United States Arctic Security: Defending the Northern Approach

16 September 2021

Lieutenant General David A. Krumm

Commander - Alaska Command / Eleventh Air Force / Alaskan NORAD Region


Our Arctic Partnerships: Safety, Security, and Environmental Stewardship

19 August 2021

Vice Admiral Steven D. Poulin

Commander, U.S. Coast Guard Atlantic Area


Joint Task Force North: Enhancing Security Through Regional Collaboration

22 July 2021

Brigadier General Pascal Godbout

Director of Policy - Norway Ministry of Defence


A View from Norway: Security in the High North

17 June 2021

Svein Efjestad

Director of Policy - Norway Ministry of Defence


A View from Sweden: Too Big Not To Care - U.S. Long-Term Strategies for the Emerging Arctic

21 May 2021

Niklas Granholm

Deputy Director of Studies - Swedish Defence Research Agency


Arctic Defense and Security: A View From Finland

23 April 2021

Janne Kuusela

Director of Policy - Finland Ministry of Defense


NATO's Foundation: NORAD and a Strong Northern American Arctic

19 March 2021

Commodore James A. Clarke

Deputy J5 Director, NORAD-USNORTHCOM


Greenland's Strategic Importance to the Security of North America

19 February 2021

Sara Olsvig

Former leader of the Inuit Ataqatigiit political party and Member of Parliament


A Conversation with Iceland's Senior Arctic Offical

22 January 2021

Friðrik Jónsson

Senior Arctic Offical, Ministry of Foreign Affairs - Iceland


list of Events - (Future)

  • April: TBD
  • May: TBD