Advisory Board

The Advisory Board was created in 1994. Dr. Al Tyler, Associate Dean of the School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, was instrumental in creating the Center and served as the first director until his retirement from the university in 2002. Other board members came from various walks of fishery life, including industry, fishery management councils, the state legislature and government agencies. All have a thorough understanding of science as a critical element in fisheries. All are committed to the sustainable management of these resources, and to the social and economic well-being of Alaska.

Current members of the RFRC Advisory Board

  • James Balsiger (2000–current) Juneau, AK
  • Doug Hoedel (2005–current) Kodiak, AK
  • Jim McManus (2007–current) Trident Seafoods
  • Trent Sutton (2015–current) Fairbanks, AK
  • David Witherell (2017–current) Anchorage, AK

Former members include:

  • D. Lee Alverson (2000–2005)
  • Jim H. Branson (1994–2007)
  • Alec W. Brindle (1995–2007)
  • Robert Brophy (1994)
  • Alvin R. Burch (1994–2016)
  • James O. Campbell (1997–2005)
  • Michael Castellini (2010–2014)
  • Donald D. O’Dowd (1994–1997)
  • Chris Oliver (2005–2016)
  • Steven Pennoyer (1994–2000)
  • Edward B. Rasmuson (2001– January 2022)
  • Clem V. Tillion (1994– October 2021)
  • Albert V. Tyler (1994–2005)
  • Denis Wiesenburg, Director (2004–June 2010)

Rasmuson Fisheries Research Center Contact Information

Christina Sutton

College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
213 O'Neill Bldg.
PO Box 757220
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Fairbanks, Alaska 99775-7220

Tel: 907-474-5840
Fax: 907-474-7204