Arctic Marine Biodiversity Observing Network (AMBON)

Project Description

The goal of the Arctic Marine Biodiversity Observing Network (AMBON) project is to build an operational marine biodiversity observation network (AMBON) for the US Chukchi Sea continental shelf. The purpose of a MBON is to gather new and continued biodiversity information, provide open access to data, and to facilitate decision making by a large variety of stakeholders. The AMBON projects covers marine biodiversity from microbes to whales. The project builds on existing data and time series with the goal to continue sampling and also to close current gaps in taxonomic coverage (e.g., microbes) in biodiversity observation on the Chukchi shelf. The project also will integrate with past and ongoing research programs on the US Arctic shelf to develop an Arctic biodiversity observation network of shared information and open data access. Beyond the Chukchi Sea, AMBON will network across the pan-Arctic and on a global scale with other biodiversity observing networks. As a demonstration project, AMBON aims to develop good practices of a biodiversity network that can be translated on a national level to other regions and ecosystems.

 


AMBON website

 


 AMBON Poster

Research Team

Principal Investigator

picture of Katrin Iken

Katrin Iken

Professor
Specialties:
  • Trophic interactions and food web analysis
  • Benthic diversity and communities
  • Stable isotope analysis
  • Phycology and invertebrate ecology
  • Shallow water ecology and deep-sea biology
  • Polar marine biology
kbiken@alaska.edu
(907) 474-5192
Full Profile

Co-Principal Investigator

picture of Seth Danielson

Seth Danielson

Research Associate Professor
Specialties:
  • Continental shelf circulation processes
  • Data processing and analysis
  • Atmosphere-ocean interactions
sldanielson@alaska.edu
(907)474-7834
Full Profile
picture of R. Eric Collins

R. Eric Collins

Assistant Professor
Specialties:
  • marine microbiology
  • bioinformatics
  • genomics and metagenomics
  • microbial ecology
  • sea ice biology
recollins@alaska.edu
(907) 474-6482
Full Profile
picture of Russell Hopcroft

Russell Hopcroft

Professor
Specialties:
  • trophodynamics
  • midwater ecology
rrhopcroft@alaska.edu
907-474-7842
Full Profile
picture of Franz Mueter

Franz Mueter

Associate Professor
Specialties:
  • climate effects on fish populations
  • dynamics of exploited populations
  • ecosystem oceanography
  • quantitative ecology
  • marine fisheries
  • multivariate analyses
  • population ecology
  • biostatistics
  • fisheries management
fmueter@alaska.edu
Full Profile
picture of Bodil Bluhm

Bodil Bluhm

Affiliate Faculty
Specialties:
  • Benthic and sea ice community ecology and biodiversity
  • Trophic interactions and population dynamics of polar marine invertebrates
  • Arctic ecosystem synthesis
  • Arctic shelf and deep sea habitats
bodil.bluhm@uit.no
011 +47 776 4438
Full Profile

Co-Principal Investigators

Jacqueline Grebmeier, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, jgrebmei@umces.edu

Lee Cooper, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, cooper@cbl.umces.edu

Kate Stafford, University of Washington, Applied Physics Laboratory, stafford@apl.washington.edu

Sue Moore, NOAA, sue.moore@noaa.gov

Kathy Kuletz, USFWS, Kathy_Kuletz@fws.gov

 

Research Staff

Ann-Christine Zinkann, UAF, azinkann@alaska.edu

Lorena Edenfield, UAF, leedenfield@alaska.edu

 

Project Funding

NOAA, BOEM, Shell Industry
Amount: 6,000,000
Start Date: 2014-11-00 End Date: 2019-10-00

Submit your project
If you are CFOS faculty, student or staff member without your project highlighted here, we want to hear from you.  CLICK HERE

Back to Top