Yukon-Koyukuk Region

The Yukon-Koyukuk region is comprised of nine communities located along the Yukon & Koyukuk Rivers. The student services staff at IAC provides an array of education support to this area including financial aid, course registration, student advising, UAF admissions, and technical support. Approximately 73 percent of the population is Alaska Native, predominantly Athabascan. Most communities are accessible only by air, by boat during the summer, and by dogsled or snowmachine in the winter.

Aerial view of the road into the Yukon-Koyukuk Region
Service Region Communities

  • Allakaket/Alatna
  • Bettles/Evansville
  • Galena
  • Hughes
  • Huslia
  • Kaltag
  • Koyukuk
  • Nulato
  • Ruby


IAC staff can assist you in preparing for a university degree or certificate program.