Degree Programs


The Political Science Department offers a Bachelor's of Arts (B.A.) degree in Political Science that is offered on campus and online. The requirements for the Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science can be found through the UAF course catalog here. Additional information about the online Political Science major can be found through the UAF eCampus website here.

In addition to the Political Science major, the Department offers three minors. Our Law and Society minor is a program of special interest to students who plan graduate studies in law, careers in government service or the legal field. We also offer a minor in Political Science, which is designed for students with an interest in politics who are majoring in another discipline.



At the graduate level, departmental course offerings support the Arctic Politics and Policy Concentration for the Masters of Arts (M.A.) degree in Arctic and Northern Studies. See the UAF Arctic and Northern Studies website for more information on this degree. Additionally,  the University of Alaska at Fairbanks offers Interdisciplinary Masters and Doctoral Degrees. This interdisciplinary program provides flexibility to students with well-defined goals who do not fit into one of the established majors offered by the university. For example, a student could design a doctoral program focusing on political science and wilderness management.


Ready to Register?