Midnight Sun Visiting Writers

The University of Alaska Fairbanks Mednight Sun Visiting Writers Series wishes to invite you to the Spring 2016 series.  This season we will be spotlighting 4 wonderful writers of poetry and fiction.

Marilyn Nelson, Friday February 12, Schlable Auditiorium at 7 p.m. and Admission is freeB

The first will be Marilyn Nelson, a three-time finalist for the National book Award, is one of America's most celebrated poets. She is the author or translator of seventeen poetry books for adults and children and the memoir How I Discovered Poetry, named one of NPR's Best Books of 2014.  Of her many collections, The Homeplace won the 1992 Annisfield-Wolf Award, The Fields of Praise; New and Selected Poems won the 1998 Poets; Prize, and both Carver: A Life in Poems and A Wreath for Emmett Till won the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award in 2001 and 2005 respectively.  Nelson's honors includee two NEA creative writing fellowships, and a fellowship from the Gggenheim Foundation, and the Frost Medal, the Poetry Society of America's most prestigious award, for a "Distinguished lifetime achieven in poetry."

We hope to see you there.

Upcoming writers:

Feb. 26,2016 -  Heid Erdrich - Poetry

March 25, 2016 - Len Kamering

Apr. 8, 2016 - Ben Percy and Becky Hagenston Second Permafrost Book Prize Reading (Fiction)

Back to Top