Raymond joins the Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee

Raymond joins the Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee

ACEP’s data governance lead Vanessa Raymond will join the Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee as a co-lead of its Data Management Collaboration Team.
This week she and other IARPC co-leads will attend IARPC Collaboration’s Implementation Launch Workshop in Anchorage and online.

Raymond joins Michael Brady of the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, Allen Pope of the National Science Foundation Office of Polar Programs, and Lauren Decker of PolArctic LLC as co-leads of the IARPC data team. They’ll establish work plans and provide leadership for federal and research-partner Arctic data activities, in accordance with principles that guide collection and use of data involving Indigenous peoples.

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski will speak at the workshop. Diane Hirshberg from UA Anchorage’s Institute of Social and Economic Research and Larry Hinzman from the White House Office of Science Technology and Policy will give opening remarks. Other speakers include Margaret Rudolph, who will discuss coproduction of research and best practices, and Nikoosh Carlo, who will review IARPC success stories.

IARPC’s mission is to bring together 18 federal agencies and Arctic researchers and communities to improve research and collaboration in the Arctic. IARPC’s Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026 identifies and sets priorities for federally supported Arctic research.

ACEP is excited to join the IARPC data management team in a leadership role to work with federal partners on energy data topics, ethical engagement as it relates to working with Alaska’s remote communities and information and data, ethical data software and cyberinfrastructure, and Indigenous data sovereignty. In addition to serving as co-lead of the IARPC data management team, Raymond is also a member of the U.S. Arctic Observing Network Expert Committee. Both are two-year commitments.


Vanessa Raymond is the program manager for ACEP’s Alaska Regional Collaboration for Technology Innovation and Commercialization. Photo by Emily McGarry.