UAF Teams Win AISES Chapter of the Year

UAF Teams Win AISES Chapter of the Year

At the American Indian Science and Engineering Society National Conference, the UAF chapter led by ACEP’s Baxter Bond was awarded its seventh Stelvio J. Zanin Chapter of the Year Award and its second Professional and Chapter Development Award since 1994. The Chapter of the Year Award is the highest recognition that a chapter can receive.

UAF chapter members Roberta Walker and Rachael Teter were awarded second place in the undergraduate research presentation competition for their presentation "Using Marine Fatty Acid and Stable Isotope Biomarkers to Investigate Overwintering Diets of Qavlunayagaat [juvenile coho salmon] in the Unalakleet River Watershed."

ACEP interns Alana Vilagi and Bond also gave a graduate research presentation, "High-Resolution Home Fuel Usage in Rural Alaska Using the Pump Monitor Apparatus." They presented data gathered by pump monitor apparatuses deployed in Tanana during the past year.

At the conference, students attended sessions and workshops on topics ranging from protecting data security to traditional Iñupiaq weather knowledge. There were also poster presentations from high school to postdoctorate levels and a college and career fair featuring representatives from 3M Co., Boeing Co., Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Purdue University.


The UAF AISES teams hold their awards. Photo courtesy of Baxter Bond/ACEP.