ARENA selects 17 energy champions for the 2024-2025 cohort

June 13, 2024

2022 ARENA cohort
Photo by Amanda Byrd/ACEP
2022 ARENA cohort pose for a photo at the Kotzebue Electric Association Wind Farm.

The Arctic Remote Energy Networks Academy is proud to announce the selection of 17 energy champions for its 2024-2025 cohort. These distinguished individuals, who live in and work with remote circumpolar communities, have been chosen for their dedication to advancing sustainable community energy solutions in the North.

ARENA, a collaborative initiative led by Canada, the U.S. and Iceland, is an experiential knowledge-sharing program designed to connect rural community energy practitioners. Endorsed by the Sustainable Development Working Group of the Arctic Council, ARENA brings together energy leaders from diverse Arctic regions to learn from one another and tour successful community-scale high-penetration renewable energy systems deployed in the North.

The program invests in local visionaries, equipping them with examples of Northern technological innovation, project management expertise, mentorship and regional networking resources. This approach empowers individuals to develop and implement culturally and geographically appropriate solutions for energy resiliency and autonomy in their own communities.

“We are thrilled to welcome such a talented and passionate cohort to the ARENA program,” U.S. ARENA co-lead Carolyn Loeffler said. 

“We greatly look forward to the work, conversations and collaborations that lie ahead. Each of these individuals come with inspiring experiences and stories, which will collectively strengthen a sustainable energy future for the Arctic.”

The 2024-25 cohort includes:

  ● Blaine Chislett, manager of energy and sustainability with Sakku Investments Corporation
  ● Alex Cook, president of ArchTech, Inc.
  ● Janelle Flett, resource development advisor with Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation
  ● Regina Foley, senior energy advisor with the NunatuKavut Community Council
  ● Grace Nakimayak, clean energy coordinator with the Paulatuk Energy Working Group
  ● Amber Polson, project coordinator with Northern Energy Innovation at Yukon University
  ● Jess Puddister, strategy and engagement manager with Nunavut Nukkiksautiit Corporation
  ● Eugene Putugu, general manager with Puvirnituq Cooperative
  ● Rena Squirrel, project coordinator with the Gwich’in Council International

Svalbard (Norway) 
  ● Mons Ole Sellevold, project manager with Store Norske

United States 
  ● Marie Francis, solar program manager with Tebughna Foundation
  ● Amanda and Kolt Garvey, co-owners of Sunstone Electric, LLC
  ● Delores Gregory, Aleut International Association
  ● Chad Nordlum, energy project manager with the Native Village of Kotzebue
  ● Roderick Phillip, utility manager with Puvurnaq Power Company
  ● Shauntai Shroyer, IPP energy coordinator with the Northwest Arctic Borough

These participants will engage in three on-site visits during the course of the year. Beginning with an on-site in July, they will visit Fairbanks, Kotzebue and villages in the Northwest Arctic Borough to learn about independent power producers and innovative microgrid models in Alaska.

Visit for more information about ARENA and the 2024-2025 cohort.