IACUC Information

The composition of the UAF Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) meets the requirements of both the USDA and OLAW, the primary federal agencies that regulate and oversee the use of live vertebrates for research, teaching, and testing.  Per UAF policy #04-003 Animal Care and Use, the Vice Chancellor for Research is the Institutional Official (IO) responsible for ensuring that the UAF animal care program is adequately funded, staffed, and administered.  The IO appoints IACUC members and designates the committee chairperson.  IACUC members are typically appointed to three-year renewable terms.   

IACUC Members

Most of the members of the UAF IACUC hold faculty positions in units that regularly conduct research, teaching, and testing activities using live vertebrates.  The committee also includes at least one community representative and the UAF Attending Veterinarian. The following is a list of the current IACUC members and their affiliations:

Milan Shipka, IACUC Chair, scientist - High Latitude Agriculture (SNRAS), Agriculture and Forestry Experiment Station
John Blake, Attending Veterinarian and Director, Animal Resources Center
Lara Horstmann, scientist - School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, Institute of Marine Science
Andres Lopez, scientist - School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, University of Alaska Museum of the North
Link Olson, scientist- Department of Biology & Wildlife, University of Alaska Museum of the North
Anshul Pandya, scientist- Chukchi Campus
Jan Straley, scientist- UAS School of Arts and Sciences, Marine Biology
Kathy Chapados, non-scientist, unaffiliated member
Rachel Berngartt, scientist, unaffiliated member
Carolyn Bergstrom, scientist- UAS School of Arts and Sciences, Marine Biology
Mike Castellini, (alternate member) scientist - Graduate School Associate Dean
Carla Willetto, (alternate member) Associate Veterinarian, Animal Resources Center


Administrative Procedures

The UAF IACUC, Animal Care Program, and Animal Facility Occupational Health and Safety Program procedures are set forth in UAF's Assurance of Compliance with Public Health Service Policy on the Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals on file with the Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare (OLAW). These procedures are formulated by the Office of Research Integrity (ORI) and approved by the Institutional Official, IACUC, and OLAW. A current copy of UAF's Assurance is available for review from ORI.

Back to Top