Arctic Policy Centers

CAPS is working to build a list of organizations that are focused in their mission on arctic policy.  In Autumn 2019, we are planning a project to enhance communication across organizations so that we can better understand who is making policy in and for the Arctic, and can develop a catalog of key actors producing policy scholarship. Please stay tuned as our project develops, and if you are on this list we will likely be contacting you soon! If your organization is not on this list but you think it should be, please reach out to us at


Academic Programs and Groups

Arctic Centre, University of Groningen, Netherlands.

Arctic Law and Policy Institute, University of Washington School of Law, Seattle, WA, USA.

Arctic Research Centre, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain.

Centre for Arctic Studies,  University of Iceland Institute of International Affairs, Reykjavík, Iceland.

Center for Arctic Study & Policy, United States Coast Guard Academy, New London, CT, USA.

Future of Ice, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA.

Institute of Arctic Studies, Dartmouth College Dickey Center for International Understanding, Hanover, NH, USA.

International Arctic Social Sciences Association, hosted at ARCTICenter, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA, USA.

Polar Cooperation Research Centre, Kobe University Graduate School of International Cooperation Studies, Kobe, Japan.

Polar Law Institute, University of Akureyri, Iceland.

Scenarios Network for Alaska + Arctic Planning, University of Alaska Fairbanks Institute of Arctic Research Studies, Fairbanks, AK, USA.

UArctic Institute for Arctic Policy Studies, Dartmouth College, University of Alaska Fairbanks, University of the Arctic.


Independent Organizations

Arctic Economic Council, Secretariat in Tromsø, Norway. 

Arctic Frontiers, Tromsø, Norway. 

The Arctic Institute - Center for Circumpolar Security Issues, Washington, DC, USA.

European Polar Board, The Hague, Netherlands.

EU-PolarNet, Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Bremerhaven, Germany.

Fridtjof Nansens Institutt, Lysaker, Norway

Institute of the North, Anchorage, AK, USA.

International Polar Foundation, Brussels, Belgium.

Polar Institute, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Washington, DC, USA.

Polar Research and Policy Initiative, London, UK.


Intergovernmental and Governmental Institutions

Arctic Council, Secretariat in Tromsø, Norway.

Barents Euro-Arctic Cooperation, Secretariat in Kirkenes, Norway.

Polar Secretariat, Danish Ministry of Higher Education and Science, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Stefansson Arctic Institute, Icelandic Ministry for the Environment and Natural Resources, Akureyri, Iceland.

United States Arctic Research Commission, Arlington, VA, USA.