About the Art Department

Painting - East Fork Toklat River South View - by David Mollett
"East Fork Toklat River South View" by David Mollett, Drawing faculty

The UAF Art Department offers Master of Fine Arts (MFA), Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA), and Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree programs.

Our MFA program is a three-year program in studio art. Major areas of concentration for the MFA can be selected from Ceramics, Computer Art, Drawing, Native Art, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture. Areas of concentration for the BFA program are Ceramics, Computer Art, Drawing, Metalsmithing (Jewelry), Native Art, Painting, Printmaking and Sculpture. We offer studio art courses in these areas as well as foundation art courses and Art History courses. Summer semester courses have included outdoor painting in various remote locations in Alaska. In addition to regular studio courses, we offer workshops by visiting artists.

Faculty List
Phone: 907-474-7530


Community Services

The UAF Art Department works in partnership with arts and cultural organizations statewide including:

The Art Department also provides:

In addition, the UAF Art Department provides services to UA campuses and schools throughout the north through outreach events.