Our Team

Our Team

The College of Indigenous Studies is here to serve our students. Our team knows the needs of Alaska’s rural and Native communities and are ready to assist you in meeting your goals.

There are College of Indigenous Studies employees spread across the state ready to work with you, no matter where you are.

Talk to an Advisor
 
 

Rural, Community and Native Education

Charlene Stern, Ph.D.

Charlene Stern, Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor

Rural, Community and Native Education

302 Signers' Hall

The office of the vice chancellor for rural, community and Native education oversees the UAF Community and Technical College, the College of Indigenous Studies, and five rural community campuses across the state of Alaska.

For more information about the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Rural, Community and Native Education, visit the RCNE website.

Jessica C. Black, Ph.D.

Jessica C. Black, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Chancellor

Rural, Community and Native Education

425 Brooks Building

Izzy Martinez

Izzy Martinez

Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor / Operations Officer

Rural, Community and Native Education

305 Signers' Hall

 

College of Indigenous Studies

Veronica Plumb

Veronica Plumb

Interim Dean

Brooks Building

Jackie Adair

Jackie Adair

Fiscal Manager

Tammi Burns

Tammi Burns

Drumbeats Grant Manager

Beryl Castillo

Beryl Castillo

Human Resources Manager

Community & Technical College | College of Indigenous Studies

Scott Culbertson

Scott Culbertson

Course and Enrollment Director

Anne Doyle

Anne Doyle

Finance Director

Carissa Hauck

Carissa Hauck

Proposal Development Officer

Community & Technical College | College of Indigenous Studies

Lauren Jerew

Lauren Jerew

Fiscal Officer

Annastasia Johnson

Annastasia Johnson

Human Resources Coordinator

Amanda Knighten

Amanda Knighten

Fiscal Technician

Kim Kovacik

Kim Kovacik

Accounts Receivable Manager

Cynthia Martin-Thompson

Cynthia Martin-Thompson

Registration Coordinator

Kirsten McGraw

Kirsten McGraw

Bookstore Coordinator / Administrative Assistant

Kacey Miller

Kacey Miller

Student Services Director

Marchelle Somaduroff

Marchelle Somaduroff

Central Grants Manager

Suzanne Tanski

Suzanne Tanski

Marketing and Communications Manager

Public information officer

Monthly Newsletter
Lisa Yancey

Lisa Yancey

Director of Operations

Chukchi Campus Staff

Minnie Naylor

Minnie Naylor

Director

mlnaylor@alaska.edu | 907-442-5051

Minnie Naylor is originally from Kotzebue and has family from Noatak and Shishmaref. Minnie graduated from UAF in 2008 with a BA in Rural Development with an emphasis in Community Organizations and Services. In 2022, she earned her MA in Rural Development from the Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development. 

Annabelle Alvite

Annabelle Alvite

USDA Grant Coordinator

aalvite@alaska.edu | 907-442-5056
UAF Chukchi Campus logo

Jazmine Camp

Regional Director, Kotzebue

ANSEP-UAA

slcamp@alaska.edu |  
UAF Chukchi Campus logo

Louise Conwell

Assistant to the Director/Registrar Coordinator

lsconwell@alaska.edu | 907-442-5053
Mae Mendenhall

Mae Mendenhall

Library Director

mgmendenhall@alaska.edu | 907-442-5058
UAF Chukchi Campus logo

Sharon Milbocker

Program Development Coordinator

smilbock@alaska.edu | 907-442-5050
 

Chukchi Campus Faculty

 
 
UAF Chukchi Campus logo

Clayton Gindt

Education Instructor

cjgindt@alaska.edu |  
UAF Chukchi Campus logo

Hannah Loon

Iñupiaq Language Instructor

hbloon@alaska.edu |  
UAF Chukchi Campus logo

Reid Magdanz

Inupiaq Language Instructor

rjmadganz@alaska.edu |  
UAF Chukchi Campus logo

Mellissia Troyer

Writing Instructor

mmtroyer@alaska.edu |  

KuC Staff

Carolyn Goolsby

Carolyn Goolsby

Director

Kuskokwim Campus

cegoolsby@alaska.edu | 907-543-4502

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Cynthia Andrecheck

Writing Center Coordinator

crandrecheck@alaska.edu | 907-543-4573

Room 112

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Dorothy Chase

Financial Aid Coordinator

dechase@alaska.edu | 907-543-4563

Room 105E

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Hugh Dyment

Health Careers Advisor

hdyment@alaska.edu | (907) 543-4524
CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Marie Friday

College Success Navigator

mefriday@alaska.edu | 907-543-4509

Room 105A 

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Melinda Flemings

Fiscal Technician III

mflemi14@alaska.edu | 907-543-4504

Room 122

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Jessica Glore

Student Services Manager

jlglore@alaska.edu | 907-543-4559

Room 105C

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Martha Glore

Office Manager

mmglore@alaska.edu | 907-543-4501

Room 219

Haley Hanson

Haley Hanson

Assistant Director

hhanson9@alaska.edu | 907-543-4587
CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Ron Kaiser

Crafts and Trades III

rjkaiser@alaska.edu | 907-543-4536 or cell: 907-545-4936

Room 150

Mikayla Miller

Mikayla Miller

Youth Services Assistant

msmiller8@alaska.edu | 907-543-4571

Library

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Danny Nelson

Academic Advisor

dnelson7@alaska.edu | 907-543-4505

Room 105D

Cheryl Offt

Golga Oscar (Quki)

Native Arts Coordinator

gposcar@alaska.edu | 907-543-4560
Theresa Quiner

Theresa Quiner

Library Director

tquiner@alaska.edu | 907-543-4517

Library

Daylon Rogers

Daylon Rogers

Local Area Network Manager

drogers15@alaska.edu | 907-543-4507

Room 205

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Marybeth Whalen

Yupiit Piciryarait Cultural Center Manager

mrwhalen@alaska.edu | 907-543-4538

Yupiit Piciryarait Cultural Center

 

KuC Faculty

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Kelechuckwu "KC" Alu

Associate Professor of Developmental Math

kalu@alaska.edu | 907-543-4525

Room 116

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Twyla Elhardt

Nursing Clinical Faculty

telhardt@alaska.edu | 907-543-4506

Room 201 YLC

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Ryan Henderson

Assistant Professor of English

rlhenderson@alaska.edu | 907-543-4580
Diane McEachern

Diane McEachern

Associate Professor of HUMS/RHS and Coordinator of KuC Behavior Health

dmmceachern@alaska.edu | 907-543-4597

Room 117

Sally Samson

Sally Samson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Yup’ik Language and Culture

spsamson@alaska.edu | 907-543-4530

Room 115

CIS Kuskokwim Campus logo

Lisa Strecker

Assistant Professor of Anthropology/Ethnobotany

lstrecker@alaska.edu | 907-699-6414

Healy

Jacqueline Tagaban

Jacqueline Tagaban

Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education

jctagaban@alaska.edu | 907-543-4555

Room 113/Juneau

 

NWC Staff

Vacant

Vacant

Director


Mitch Erickson

Mitch Erickson

Evening Admin Assistant

merickso@alaska.edu | 907-443-8415
Naomi Jones

Naomi Jones

Program and Outreach Coordinator

nejones2@alaska.edu | 907-624-3157

Based in Unalakleet

Sue Luke

Sue Luke

Business Manager

ssluke@alaska.edu | 907-443-8409
Frank McFarland

Frank McFarland

Facilities Manager

fmcfarl1@alaska.edu | 907-443-8405
Chad Oleson

Chad Oleson

Program Manager

cdoleson@alaska.edu | 907-443-8404
Lisa Pullock

Lisa Pullock

Workforce Development Specialist

lrpullock@alaska.edu | 907-443-8406
Sonja Schaeffer

Sonja Schaeffer

Program Development Manager

slschaeffer@alaska.edu | 907-443-8420
Bonnie Schelle

Bonnie Scheele

HLRM Program Manager

bmscheele@alaska.edu | 907-443-8428
Gwen Manniq Trigg-Stettenbenz

Gwendalyn Manniq Trigg-Stettenbenz

Admissions and Records Coordinator

gltriggkomakhuk@alaska.edu | 907-443-8403
CIS Northwest Campus logo

Vacant

Student Services Manager

Apply Here
Vacant

Vacant

Business/Administrative Coordinator

Apply Here
 
 
 
 
 

NWC Faculty

Ryan Ford

Ryan Ford

Construction Trades Technology Program

jford23@alaska.edu | 907-223-1287Construction Trades Technology program
Jackie Hrabok

Jackie Hrabok

Cooperative Extension and High Latitude Range Management

jhrabok@alaska.edu | 907-434-2906Cooperative Extension Program
Claudia Ihl

Claudia Ihl

Biology

cihl@alaska.edu | 907-443-8417