Anchorage Outreach Center

Submit your pest, plant or plant disease for identification online with our Citizen Science portal. You can also ask our staff questions online using our Ask an Expert portal. 

 

The Anchorage Outreach Center is open! 

We are available by phone or email:
Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Phone: 907-786-6300
 
If you need to meet with one of our experts, please call to make an appointment before stopping by.
 
DeShana York: General Questions & AKAgrAbility Program
907-786-6330
ddyork@alaska.edu

Gina Dionne: Home Garden and Food Preservation
907-786-6313
gddionne@alaska.edu

Ann Kowenstrot Biddle: Anchorage 4-H Youth Program
907-786-6345
amkowenstrot@alaska.edu

Gino Graziano: Invasive Plants
907-786-6315
gagraziano@alaska.edu

Alex Wenninger: Plant Pests: Insects/Diseases
907-786-6309
akwenninger@alaska.edu

Leif Albertson: Home Health & Food Preservation
907-543-4553
lealbertson@alaska.edu
 
Address:
UAF Cooperative Extension Office
Anchorage Outreach Center
219 E International Airport Rd., Suite 100A
Anchorage AK 99518-1213
 
And remember, even when our office is closed, you can download all of our free publications anytime at http://cespubs.uaf.edu/
 
 
Soil Testing

Understanding what nutrients are available in your soil for your plants is needed in order to supply your garden with the building blocks to promote healthy and vigorous growth.  Taking a soil sample and analyzing a soil test is the only way to know what nutrients are in your soil and how much fertilizer to apply to your garden. 

Or download one of our free publications on managing Alaska soils for more information on taking a soil sample, selecting a soil testing laboratory and interpreting your results.
 
Pressure Canner Gauge Testing

Dial gauges on pressure canners need to be tested for accuracy every year. This free service is offered at the Anchorage Outreach Center.  Currently, we are testing canner gauges by appointment only. Please contact us for more information.