Alaska Master Gardener Program

Alaska Master Gardeners

Alaska Master Gardeners are volunteers for the University of Alaska Fairbanks Cooperative Extension Service and are located in communities throughout the state. To become a Master Gardener, you must complete 40 hours of horticultural training and, in return, volunteer 40 hours of time.

The training provides a broad horticultural background and includes the topics of botany, soils, vegetable production using organic and conventional techniques, integrated pest management, greenhouses, lawns, houseplants, trees/shrubs, flowers and invasive plants.

The prerequisites for becoming a Master Gardener include familiarity with Alaska gardening conditions and a commitment to 40 hours of volunteer time. Face-to-face Master Gardener training is only available in certain locations. The dates of classes vary as well. Our calendar is updated each spring prior to registration.

Contacts by Region

Anchorage
DeShana York, 907-786-6330, ddyork@alaska.edu
 
Palmer, Wasilla, Glennallen, Valdez, Trapper Creek, Talkeetna, Willow, Bethel, Kuskokwim Campus, Fairbanks
Steve Brown, 907-745-3639, scbrown4@alaska.edu
 
Delta Junction, Tok
Phil Kaspari, 907-895-4215, pnkaspari@alaska.edu
 
Juneau, Haines, Skagway, Gustavus, Yakutat, Elfin Cove
Darren Snyder, 907-523-3280 x2, darren.snyder@alaska.edu
 
Soldotna, Kenai, Kodiak, Dillingham, Seward, Homer, Cooper Landing
Casey Matney, 907-262-5824, camatney@alaska.edu
 
Sitka, Ketchikan, Petersburg, Craig, Prince of Wales Island, Aleutians, Western Alaska
Jasmine Shaw, 907-747-9440, jdshaw2@alaska.edu 

Events

PhotoVolunteering Responsibilities

Master Gardeners are required to volunteer 40 hours. Your instructor will provide direction for your volunteer work. Master Gardener volunteers work independently and may become involved in beautification projects. Examples of volunteer activities include the following:

  • Teaching garden classes
  • Working with youth and adult groups, such as horticulture therapy
  • groups, community gardeners, and 4-H clubs
  • Staffing garden clinics and displays
  • Answering phone inquires on horticultural topics
  • Developing demonstration gardens

Master Gardener Associations

Alaska Master Gardeners Association-Anchorage

Mat-Su Master Gardeners Organization

Master Gardeners of the Tanana Valley

Southeast Alaska Master Gardener Association