The University of Alaska Fairbanks operates in three clearly distinguishable areas:

  • The Land, Sea and Space Grant institution, a Carnegie-classified, research-intensive university, comprised of colleges, schools and major research institutes based in Fairbanks
  • The Tanana Valley Campus, a community college that principally serves the Fairbanks North Star Borough
  • Five community campuses located throughout the state, which focus on serving the lifelong educational needs of rural Alaskans

These three areas are in some ways independent, in other ways interdependent, and in many ways fully integrated. UAF offers certificates and associate, baccalaureate, master's and doctoral degrees, as well as a wide range of non-credit courses. No other single university in the country is as multi-dimensional as UAF.

Strategic Plan 2010 prescribes UAF's pathways and goals for the next five years using a broad brush approach. The strategic plan, in turn, focuses the compact plans. Each college, school, institute and administrative unit's compact plan provides the details and measurable implementations that will enable UAF to collectively reach its strategic destinations. The compact plans are reviewed and revised annually.