URSA announces 2022 Mentor Awards

The Office of Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Activity (URSA) congratulates the following individuals who received a 2022 Mentor Award.

2022 Mentor Award Recipients

  • Jonah Bacon: Graduate Student, Fisheries
  • Ben Barst: Research Assistant Professor, Water and Environmental Research Center (WERC)
  • Todd Brinkman: Associate Professor, Biology and Wildlife
  • Chandler Kemp: Assistant Professor, Sustainable Energy (Bristol Bay Campus)
  • Amber Perk: Graduate Student, Fisheries
  • Derek Sikes: Professor, Biology and Wildlife and Curator of Insects, University of Alaska Museum of the North
  • Courtney Skaggs: Graduate Student, Creative Writing
  • Yin Zhang: Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering

URSA Mentor Awards open for applications every fall and provide funding of up to $6,000 to those mentoring undergraduate research and creative projects at UAF and affiliated campuses. Full-time UAF faculty members, postdoctoral researchers and graduate students from all disciplines and campuses are eligible to apply.

For more information about this year's funded Mentor Award projects, please visit the URSA Award Recipients page. Contact the URSA Office for more information on how to get involved: uaf-ursa@alaska.edu | 907-450-8772