Five faculty and staff awarded Dennis Demmert Award

Two people stand together holding award
UAF photo by CRCD
Kaitlin Tom, resident director and student conduct administrator, stands with the student that nominated her, Sim Bartman (right).

This is the twenty-ninth year that Rural Student Services has asked students to nominate a staff or faculty member who has substantially impacted their academic efforts. In addition, the Rural Student Services staff selects an individual that has gone above and beyond to demonstrate UAF's goal of creating a culture of respect, diversity and inclusion.  

Below is the list of this year's award recipients and the students who nominated them.

  • Jennifer Adams, assistant professor, Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development
    • Nominated by Cavelila Wonhola
  • Jim Brashear, professor of ceramics, Art Department
    • Nominated by Riana Adams and Alana Moses
  • David Fonger, assistant professor and program advisor, Process Technology Program 
    • Nominated by Ginger Keller
  • Kaitlin Tom, resident director and student conduct administrator
    • Nominated by Sim Bartman
  • Arleigh Reynolds, One Health director, CNSM associate dean and professor of clinical nutrition in the Department of Veterinary Medicine
    • Nominated by RSS staff
Three employees stand together with awardee
UAF Photo by CRCD
Arleigh Reynolds (right), One Health director, CNSM associate dean and professor of clinical nutrition in the Department of Veterinary Medicine, stands with his Center for One Health team: Alisa Alexander (left) and Kelsey Nicholson.

Dennis Demmert worked hard to expand and connect curricula and courses at UAF that pertained to Alaska Native people and culture. He began this work just after the Alaska Native Settlement Act passed. He always felt strongly that Alaska Native Students have a place at this institution.

Dennis Demmert
Photo by Rural Student Services
Dennis Demmert

Demmert wanted to take one day a year to thank individuals who help make UAF a positive place for Alaska Native students. He recognized other faculty and administrators who understood the value of courses about Alaska Native peoples and who helped facilitate this evolution of Alaska Native programs at UAF.

During the 1994 Native Summit at UAF, Demmert recommended that something be done to recognize individuals whose actions have proved their support. Later, the name of the award was changed from the RSS Appreciation and Recognition Award to the Dennis Demmert Appreciation and Recognition Award in honor of Demmert's many years of service and dedication to the betterment of the Alaska Native community.

Congratulations to the awardees, and thank you for your dedication to our students!