2023 Poetry and 2022 Nonfiction Winners

Permafrost is very pleased to announce recent book prize winners in Nonfiction and Poetry


headshot of author Brook McClurg

Brook McClurg
for his manuscript

A Dictionary of Modern Consternation

chosen by judge Joy Castro

headshot of author Latorial Faison


Latorial Faison
for her manuscript

Nursery Rhymes in Black

chosen by judge Aimee Nezhukumatathil


We’d also like to extend congratulations to first runner up Sarah Giragosian, for their manuscript The First Hunger, and to second runner up Margot Wizansky, for their manuscript Random Music in a Small Galaxy.


Congratulations to Brook and Latorial, and thanks to all who submitted.