The 2023 Permafrost Book Prize in poetry is now accepting submissions!

We are very excited to announce that Aimee Nezhukumatathil will judge our 2023 Book Prize in poetry!


Contest Information  


Winner will receive $1000 and publication through the University of Alaska Press.  



The Permafrost Book Prize welcomes manuscripts from all writers, including non-US citizens, writing in English. We do not consider manuscripts that have been previously published, including chapbooks and self-published works.   No past or present UAF English Department faculty or UAF student, previous winners of the book prize, or anyone otherwise affiliated with Permafrost, or the University of Alaska Press is eligible for the prize.   You may submit more than one manuscript, but each manuscript must be sent separately.  


When to Send:

Manuscripts will be accepted between November 15, 2022, and March 15, 2023.  



Poetry manuscripts should be between 50-80 pages. Collected works of previously published poems, including chapbooks and self-published collections are not eligible.  



Manuscripts should be submitted through Submittable. The author’s name should not appear anywhere on the manuscript. All entries will be read anonymously. An acknowledgements page listing the publication history of individual poems may be included, if desired.  Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but we ask that you notify us immediately if your manuscript is accepted for publication somewhere else.  


Entry Fee:

Each submission requires a $20 fee.  



Winners will be announced on this website around July 15, 2023.


About Aimee:

headshot of judge Aimee Nezhukumatathil

Aimee Nezhukumatathil (neh-ZOO / KOO-mah / tah-TILL) is the author of the New York Times best-selling illustrated collection of nature essays and Kirkus Prize finalist, WORLD OF WONDERS: IN PRAISE OF FIREFLIES, WHALE SHARKS, & OTHER ASTONISHMENTS (2020, Milkweed Editions), which was chosen as Barnes and Noble’s Book of the Year. She has four previous poetry collections: OCEANIC (Copper Canyon Press, 2018), LUCKY FISH (2011), AT THE DRIVE-IN VOLCANO (2007), and MIRACLE FRUIT (2003), the last three from Tupelo Press.  Her most recent chapbook is LACE & PYRITE, a collaboration of epistolary garden poems with the poet Ross Gay. Her writing appears twice in the Best American Poetry Series, The New York Times Magazine, ESPN, Ploughshares, American Poetry Review, and Tin House.  

Honors include a poetry fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Pushcart Prize, a Mississippi Arts Council grant, and being named a Guggenheim Fellow in poetry. In 2021, she became the first-ever poetry editor for SIERRA magazine, the story-telling arm of The Sierra Club. She is professor of English and Creative Writing in the University of Mississippi’s MFA program.


The 10th Annual Permafrost Book Prize offers publication of a book of poetry, $1,000, and distribution through University of Alaska Press.



The deadline to submit for the 2023 contest is March 15.