Arctic Tracer Release Experiment (ARCTREX): Applications for Mapping Spilled Oil in Arctic Waters

Project Description

The goal of this project is to simulate a small oil spill in the Chukchi Sea in order to test the ability of currently available observational technologies and web-based GIS tools to provide real time data and maps to response agencies. We will perform a series of dye release experiments during the ice-free seasons of 2014 and 2015, and sample the resulting plumes with satellite-tracked surface drifters, AUV gliders, an Acrobat towed vehicle, extended-range high frequency radar, and a VMP-250 vertical microstructure profiler. Data will then be ingested into NOAA's Environmental Response Management Application ERMA (Arctic ERMA) for inclusion in their web-based mapping tool.Funding is by The U.S. Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) and The U.S. Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE)

Research Team

Principal Investigator

picture of Peter Winsor

Peter Winsor

Associate Professor
Specialties:
  • Alaska Ocean Observing System
  • Physical Oceanography
pwinsor@alaska.edu
(907) 474-7740
Full Profile

Co-Principal Investigator

picture of Harper Simmons

Harper Simmons

Associate Professor
hlsimmons@alaska.edu
Full Profile
Co-Principal Investigators

Robert Chant, Rutgers University
848-932-3348, chant@marine.rutgers.edu
 

Amy Merten, NOAA
206-526-6829, amy.merten@noaa.gov

Research Staff

Elizabeth Dobbins, 907-474-5961, eldobbins@alaska.edu
Hank Statscewich, 907-474-7245, hstatscewich@alaska.edu

Project Funding

multiple funding sources
Start Date: 2013-05-00 End Date: 2016-04-00

Submit your project
If you are CFOS faculty, student or staff member without your project highlighted here, we want to hear from you.  CLICK HERE

Back to Top