Exchange Programs

National Student Exchange

UAF is a member of the National Student Exchange. Through this program, qualified students may apply for exchange enrollment at any one of more than 170 public colleges and universities throughout the United States, its territories and Canada. NSE enables students to study at other member institutions and participating schools and take advantage of specialized courses or unique programs. Participation in the program is limited to one year.

Exchanges generally take place during the student's sophomore or junior year. Applicants must have completed a minimum of two consecutive semesters at UAF as full-time degree-seeking students with a 2.5 cumulative GPA. Tuition is assessed by the host institution at the in-state rate, or the student may choose to pay tuition at UAF. The application deadline is Feb. 15 before the term of exchange. For more information, visit and contact the NSE coordinator in the Office of Admissions, 907-474-7500.

Note: Students attending any campus of the University of Alaska system under the National Student Exchange (NSE) program are assumed to be receiving the benefit of reduced tuition because of their enrollment at a NSE partner university in another state. Therefore, time spent in NSE does not count toward the time required to establish residency in Alaska for tuition purposes. If students end their participation in NSE, they could begin establishing residency for tuition purposes as set forth in the UA Resident and Non-resident Tuition policy on page 53.

Study Abroad And International Exchange Programs

Studying abroad for a semester or a year is an excellent opportunity for every UAF student to learn about other cultures and gain international experience while earning academic credit. Students in international exchange and study abroad programs enroll at UAF and receive UAF credit while attending classes in another country. The Alaska Student Loan and most other forms of financial aid may be used for any study abroad or exchange program. Students interested in studying abroad should begin planning early in their UAF careers, particularly because prior study of a foreign language may be required for some programs and is highly recommended for others. A minimum 2.5 cumulative GPA is required. Study abroad and exchange programs are administered by the Office of International Programs.

There are three routes to overseas study at UAF: study abroad, international exchange, and north2north exchange. The countries where these programs are offered are listed in the table below.

Students participating in study abroad or exchange programs pay a $100 processing fee to UAF. For study abroad programs, all tuition, housing and student fees are paid directly to the program provider or host institution. Students participating in exchange and north2north programs pay for 15 credits of undergraduate or 9 credits of graduate UAF tuition, the UAF technology fee and a 2 percent of tuition network fee in addition to the $100 processing fee. Tuition and fees are assessed on a semester basis.

study abroad or exchange program Locations
Argentina France New Zealand
Australia Germany Norway
Austria Ghana Peru
Belgium Greece Poland
Brazil Hong Kong Russia
Canada Hungary Scotland
Chile Iceland Singapore
China India South Africa
Costa Rica Ireland South Korea
Czech Republic Italy Spain
Denmark Japan Sweden
Dominican Republic Jordan Switzerland
Egypt Malaysia Taiwan
England Mexico Thailand
Fiji Morocco Wales
Finland Netherlands

North2north is a student exchange program organized by the University of the Arctic. Programs are focused on northern studies and are designed to enhance the arctic perspective of UAF academic programs.

For more information, call 907-474-7192, e-mail, or visit online at