2001-2002 UAF Catalog

Colleges and Schools

Liberal Arts, College of

John S. Leipzig, Dean

The College of Liberal Arts provides a broad liberal arts education to UAF students whatever their specialization. Its courses also emphasize writing and oral communication skills and foster an appreciation for the arts through active programs in visual art, music, theater and Alaska Native arts. The College of Liberal Arts provides a variety of courses to satisfy core curriculum requirements for students. Undergraduate degrees offered include 25 B.A. degrees, four B.S. degrees, one B.M. degree, and one B.F.A. degree. Graduate degrees offered include six M.A. degrees and terminal degrees in Anthropology (Ph.D.), Creative Writing (M.F.A.) and Art (M.F.A.).

The college sponsors the Alaska Living History series and the Alaska Native Elders Program, which bring men and women to the campus who have helped shape the state of Alaska. The college is organized into four divisions, which include: (1) Arts and Communication, with departments of Art, Communication, Journalism, Music and Theatre; (2) Humanities, with departments of English, Philosophy and Humanities; (3) Languages and Cultures, with departments of Anthropology, Alaska Native Studies and Languages, Foreign Languages and Literatures and Linguistics; and (4) Social Sciences, with departments of History, Justice, Military Science, Northern Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work and Sociology. The College of Liberal Arts also includes the Alaska Native Language Center, Elderhostel, KUAC public radio and television, Library Sciences, the Rural Alaska Honors Institute and the UAF Honors Program.