2002-2003 UAF Catalog


UA Board of Regents

Michael J. Burns, Chair 1997-2005
Elsa Froehlich Demeksa, Vice Chair 1997-2005
Brian D. Rogers, Treasurer 1999-2007
Mark Begich 2001-2009
Chancey Croft 1995-2003
Joe Hardenbrook 2001-2003
Marlene Johnson 2001-2009
Kevin O. Meyers 2000-2007
Frances H. Rose 1999-2007
Joe J. Thomas 1995-2003
Joseph E. Usibelli, Jr. 1999-2007
UA BOR on the Web www.alaska.edu/bor/

UAF Administration

Chancellor Marshall L. Lind
Provost Paul Reichardt
Administrative Services Frank Williams, Vice Chancellor
Agriculture and Land Resources Management, School of Carol E. Lewis, Interim Dean
Arctic Biology, Institute of Brian Barnes, Interim Director
Arctic Region Supercomputing Center Frank Williams, Director
Campus Diversity and Compliance Earlina Bowden, Assistant to the Chancellor
Cooperative Extension Service Anthony Nakazawa, Director
Development Pamela Davis, Executive Director
Education, School of Roger Norris-Tull, Dean
Facilities Kathleen Schedler, Associate Vice Chancellor
Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, School of Vera Alexander, Dean
Geophysical Institute Roger Smith, Director
Graduate School Joseph Kan, Dean
International Arctic Research Center Syun-Ichi Akasofu, Director
Liberal Arts, College of John S. Leipzig, Dean
Library, Rasmuson Paul McCarthy, Director of Libraries and Information Technology
Management, School of James Collins, Dean
Marine Science, Institute of Donald Schell, Director
Mineral Engineering, School of Sukumar Bandopadhyay, Interim Dean
Museum, University of Alaska Aldona Jonaitis, Director
Northern Engineering, Institute of Doug Kane, Interim Director
Research Ted DeLaca, Vice Provost
Rural Alaska, College of Bernice Joseph, Executive Dean
Ñ Bristol Bay Campus Margaret Wood, Director
Ñ Chukchi Campus Lincoln Saito, Director
Ñ Interior-Aleutians Campus Clara Johnson, Director
Ñ Kuskokwim Campus Robert Medinger, Director
Ñ Northwest Campus Michael Babb, Director
Ñ Tanana Valley Campus Jake Poole, Director
Science, Engineering and Mathematics, College of David Woodall, Dean
Student Services Carla Kirts, Dean
University Relations Debra Damron, Director


ASUAF Derek Miller, President (2001-2002)
Faculty Senate Godwin Chukwu, President (2002-2003)
Staff Council Larry Ledlow, President (2002-2003)

Faculty and Staff

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z


A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z


The date following each name designates the time of original appointment to the University faculty or staff. (Dates of resignations and reappointments are not indicated.) A second date in parentheses follows each member’s present rank and indicates the beginning of service in that rank. The abbreviation that follows this second date indicates the University of Alaska Fairbanks unit in which the employee works. The abbreviations are:

ADM Admissions Office
AFES Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station
ANHRDP Alaska Native Human Resource Development Program
ARSC Arctic Region Supercomputing Center
ATHREC Athletics and Recreation
BB Bristol Bay Campus
CC Chukchi Campus
CES Cooperative Extension Service
CGCASR Center for Global Change and Arctic System Research
CLA College of Liberal Arts
CRA College of Rural Alaska
CSEM College of Science, Engineering and Mathematics
FITC Fishery Industrial Technology Center
FS Facilities Services
GI Geophysical Institute
GRAD Graduate School
IAB Institute of Arctic Biology
IAC Interior-Aleutians Campus
IARC International Arctic Research Center
IMS Institute of Marine Science
INE Institute of Northern Engineering
JC Juneau Center
KUC Kuskokwim Campus
LIB Elmer Rasmuson Library
MAP Marine Advisory Program
WCPR West Coast and Polar Regions Undersea Research Center
NWC Northwest Campus
OSP Office of Sponsored Programs
PDL Petroleum Development Laboratory
PROV Office of the Provost
REG Registrar
SALRM School of Agriculture and Land Resources Management
SFOS School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
SG Alaska Sea Grant College Program
SME School of Mineral Engineering
SOED School of Education
SOM School of Management
STUSVC Student Services
TVC Tanana Valley Campus
UAM University of Alaska Museum
UR University Relations
VCAS Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services
WERC Water and Environmental Research Center