Contact Us

DANSRD STAFF & FACULTY


photo

Evon Peter, M.A.
Vice Chancellor, Rural, Community and Native Education
College of Rural and Community Development
Fourth Floor Brooks Building
P.O. Box 756500
Fairbanks, AK 99775-6500
Phone: (907) 474-7143
Fax: (907) 474-5824
Email: espeter@alaska.edu

For more information on the Vice Chancellor, click here.


Diane Benson, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor

2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd #121

Anchorage, AK 99508

Phone: (907) 786-0803

Fax: (907) 786-0804

Email: debenson2@alaska.edu


Jessica Black, P.h.D. Candidate
Assistant Professor
311 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-7434
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: jcblack@alaska.edu

“I was drawn to my profession, because I believe learning can be transformational.  I experienced this first hand.  As a child I was versed in my Indigenous ways, learning from my grandparents, family, other elders, and community members.  Learning traditional knowledge made me more opened minded, gave me confidence, and connected me to my ancestors and my relatives.  It was a very affirming process.  As I got older this love of learning only expanded, where I actually was thirsty for more.  This path led me to my current profession, as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development and Tribal Management.  Through my work in teaching, research and service I am able to give back to my community, to learn from my colleagues and students and contribute to making this world a better place.”


Cathy Brooks photo
Photo by Todd Paris

Cathy Brooks, M.S.
Assistant Professor & Faculty Advisor for Festival of Native Arts
305 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6889 or Toll-free 1-888-574-6528
Fax: (907) 474-6325/5666

Email: cabrooks2@alaska.edu 

  • Academic Co-chair
  • For more information about the Festival of Native Arts, CLICK HERE.
     

Photo by Todd Paris

Jennifer L. L. Carroll, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
323 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-5405
Email: jlcarroll@alaska.edu

  • Academic Co-Chair
  • Peace Corps Contact for DANSRD

Crystal Frank, M.A.
Administrative Assistant
315 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6528
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: cafrank@alaska.edu

  • Schedules room 309 DANSRD Conference Room
  • Processes Academic Forms & Admission documents
  • Webmaster
  • Administrative Assistant to DANSRD Fairbanks office & Festival of Native Arts
  • DANSRD Newsletter publication


 


photo of Jenny Bell Jones

Jenny Bell Jones, M.A.

Emeritus Professor & Adjunct
Email: jbjones@alaska.edu



Kathleen Meckel

Assistant Professor

305 Brooks Building

Phone: (907) 474-6842

Fax: (907) 474-6325

Email: kmeckel@alaska.edu


Photo by Todd Paris

Ellarae Miner

Student Success Coordinator

317 Brooks Building

Phone: (907) 474-5948 or Toll-free 1-888-574-6528

Email: eminer2@alaska.edu

To schedule an UNDERGRADUATE advising appointment, CLICK HERE.


Photo by Todd Paris

Sherrie Rahlfs
Office Manager
321 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-5808

Email: slrahlfs@alaska.edu

  • DANSRD Course Scheduling
  • Instructor & Special Topics Approvals for DANSRD
  • Textbook Adoptions
  • Travel Coordinator

photo by Mark Hoover

Judith Daxootsu Ramos, M.A.
Assistant Professor
2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd #121
Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone: (907) 786-0802
Fax: (907) 786-0804
Email: jramos2@alaska.edu

"Growing up and listening to my grandmother’s stories, developed for me a passion for documenting my people’s cultural and history. I feel Western society has an incredible opportunity to learn from Alaska Native People’s culture, wisdom, and knowledge. I am passionate about helping our communities become self-sustainable and naturally healthy."


Patricia Sekaquaptewa
Assistant Professor
307 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-1539
Email: pssekaquaptewa@alaska.edu

  • RD 400 Internship contact for DANSRD (offered Spring Semester ONLY)

Photo by Crystal Frank

Charlene Stern, M.C.R.P

Assistant Professor

319 Brooks Building

Phone: (907) 474-5293

Fax: (907) 474-6325

Email: cbstern@alaska.edu


Adrienne Titus

Student Co-Coordinator

Festival of Native Arts

305 Brooks Building

Phone: (907) 474-6864 or Toll-free 1-888-574-6528

Fax: (907) 474-6325

Email: ablatch1@alaska.edu

For more information about the Festival of Native Arts, CLICK HERE.


Caitlin Tozier

Student Co-Coordinator

Festival of Native Arts 
305 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6864 or Toll-free 1-888-574-6528
Fax: (907) 474-6325

Email: crtozier@alaska.edu

For more information about the Festival of Native Arts, CLICK HERE.


Back to Top