Faculty and Staff


photo

Evon Peter, M.A.
Vice Chancellor, Rural, Community and Native Education
College of Rural and Community Development
Fourth Floor Brooks Building
P.O. Box 756500
Fairbanks, AK 99775-6500
Phone: (907) 474-7143
Fax: (907) 474-5824
Email: espeter@alaska.edu

For more information on the Vice Chancellor, click here.

 

Diane Benson, M.F.A.
Assistant Professor
306-A Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6648
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: debenson2@alaska.edu

 

Jessica Black, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
311 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-7434
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: jcblack@alaska.edu

“I was drawn to my profession, because I believe learning can be transformational.  I experienced this first hand.  As a child I was versed in my Indigenous ways, learning from my grandparents, family, other elders, and community members.  Learning traditional knowledge made me more opened minded, gave me confidence, and connected me to my ancestors and my relatives.  It was a very affirming process.  As I got older this love of learning only expanded, where I actually was thirsty for more.  This path led me to my current profession, as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development and Tribal Management.  Through my work in teaching, research and service I am able to give back to my community, to learn from my colleagues and students and contribute to making this world a better place.”

 

Cathy Brooks photo
Photo by Todd Paris

Cathy Brooks, M.S.
Assistant Professor & Faculty Advisor for Festival of Native Arts
305 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6889
Fax: (907) 474-6325/5666
Email: cabrooks2@alaska.edu

 

  • For more information about the Festival of Native Arts, CLICK HERE.

Photo by Todd Paris

Jennifer L. L. Carroll, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
323 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-5405
Email: jlcarroll@alaska.edu

  • Academic Co-Chair
  • Peace Corps Contact for DANSRD
 

photo of Jenny Bell Jones

Jenny Bell Jones, M.A.

Emeritus Professor & Adjunct
Email: jbjones@alaska.edu

 

Kathleen Meckel, M.S.Ed.
Assistant Professor
305 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6842
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: kmeckel@alaska.edu

 

Photo by Todd Paris

Ellarae Miner
Student Success Coordinator
317 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-5948
Email: eminer2@alaska.edu

To schedule an UNDERGRADUATE advising appointment, CLICK HERE.

 

Photo by Todd Paris

Sherrie Jones
Office Manager
321 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-5808
Email: sljones19@alaska.edu

 

photo by Mark Hoover

Judith Daxootsu Ramos, M.A.
Assistant Professor
306-D Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6652
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: jramos2@alaska.edu

"Growing up and listening to my grandmother’s stories, developed for me a passion for documenting my people’s cultural and history. I feel Western society has an incredible opportunity to learn from Alaska Native People’s culture, wisdom, and knowledge. I am passionate about helping our communities become self-sustainable and naturally healthy."

 

Patricia Sekaquaptewa, J.D.
Assistant Professor
307 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-1539

Email: pssekaquaptewa@alaska.edu

  • RD 400 Internship contact for DANSRD (offered Spring Semester ONLY)
 

Photo by Crystal Frank

Charlene Stern, M.C.R.P
Assistant Professor
319 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-5293
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: cbstern@alaska.edu

  • Academic Co-Chair
  
 

Student Workers

Shelby Fisher-Salmon
Student Office Support
Festival of Native Arts
305 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6864
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: ssfishersalmon@alaska.edu

For more information about the Festival of Native Arts, click here.

Maria Panozo
Receptionist
315 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6528
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: mjjacobsonpanozo@alaska.edu

 

  

Caitlin Tozier
FNA Student Coordinator
Festival of Native Arts
305 Brooks Building
Phone: (907) 474-6864
Fax: (907) 474-6325
Email: crtozier@alaska.edu

For more information about the Festival of Native Arts, click here.

 
Back to Top