Committee on Joint Appointments

ad hoc Faculty Senate Committee (2013 and AY2013-14)

The UAF Faculty Senate has appointed this ad hoc committee to address policies and regulations for hiring and evaluation of faculty with joint appointments. In the reference document is the UAF Faculty Appointment and Evaluation Policy and Regulations, aka Blue Book, sections regarding joint appointments are brief and leave details unspecified. In the absence of official procedures ad hoc solutions have developed. In many cases these solutions have worked well for individual units and may be considered as possible models for the system as a whole. In other cases, the procedures have been reported to be unsatisfactory and confusing, particularly in units where joint appointments are less common.

The committee's charge is to:

  • Recommend formal policies and regulations for hiring and evaluation of tenure-track and research faculty with joint appointments. These recommendations will go to the Faculty Senate and the Provost.
  • Draft new sections on these policies and regulations for the UAF Blue Book.
  • Advise the Faculty Senate on any other issues related to joint appointments that the committee wishes to raise.

Committee members:

Perry Barboza, CNSM Bio & Wildlife / IAB
Bill Bristow, CEM / GI - Chair
Doug Christensen, CNSM Geol & Geophys / GI
Roxie Dinstel, CES
Javier Fochesatto, CNSM Atmospheric Sci / GI
Patricia Holloway, SNRAS
Gordon Kruse, SFOS Fisheries (Juneau)
Patrick Marlow, CLA / SOE


Meeting Schedule

Fall 2013 Semester:

  • Friday, November 8, 2013
    Time: 1:00 - 2:00 PM
    Location: 311 Irving I (IAB Library)
    Participants' PIN: 5336747
  • Friday, October 4, 2013
    Time: 10:00 - 11:00 AM
    Location: RUNCORN ROOM (300 Reichardt Building)
  • Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2013
    Time: 10:00 - 11:00 AM
    Location: 306 Reichardt Bldg., Geology Library

Initial start-up meeting:

  • Friday, May 17, 2013
    11:00 AM to noon
    Kayak Room (408 Rasmuson)
Back to Top