Summer Sessions

Join Us for Summer!summer

Taking classes in the summer is a great way to complete GERs, stay on track to graduate, and make up courses you may have dropped. Enjoy smaller class sizes and take advantage of free study help for math, speech, and writing.  A bonus is that in summer, there is in-state tuition for all.

Registration for degree-seeking students for 2020 Summer Sessions courses begins on February 10, 2020.  Open registration for all students begins on February 24, 2020.

Please note that only classes offered by Summer Sessions & Lifelong Learning, which can be identified by a section number starting with 'F' and followed by numbers, are eligible for the Summer Sessions & Lifelong Learning Financial Aid. Courses that are administered by eCampus or CTC do not qualify for our financial aid.

Degree-seeking students register via UAOnline

Community Members - Please go to our Community Member Registration Page for more info.

 

 

Course Number

CRN

Title

Dates

Instructor

Credits


Ajango, Deb - Lecturer in Emergency Medical Services - debajango@gmail.com

Alam, Gazi ‘Mahmud’ - Lecturer in Mathematics - gmalam@alaska.edu

Albanese, Mary - Lecturer in Art - marydalbanese@aol.com

Alloway, Joseph - Lecturer in English as Second Language - jaalloway@alaska.edu

Ancheta, JR - Lecturer in Portrait Photography - jancheta@alaska.edu

Avery, Victoria - Lecturer in English - vlavery@alaska.edu

Belz, Nathan - Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering - npbelz@alaska.edu

Bowman, Latrice - Instructor of Mathematics - lnbowman@alaska.edu

Boylan, Brandon - Associate Professor of Political Science - bmboylan@alaska.edu

Buckalew-Hedin, Jamie - Term Assistant Professor - jbuckalewhedin@alaska.edu

Carlson, Patricia - Lecturer in Art - pecarlson@alaska.edu

Celaire, Jaunelle - Professor of Music - jrcelaire@alaska.edu

Christian, Benjamin - Lecturer in Geography - bdchristian@alaska.edu

Colley, Melvin - Lecturer in Justice - melvincolley@hotmail.com

Criddle, Keith - Professor of Fisheries - kcriddle@alaska.edu

Croskrey, Wendy - Professor of Art - wecroskrey@alaska.edu

Cuzovic-Severn, Marina - Assistant Professor of Spanish - mcuzovicsevern@alaska.edu

Dart, James - Lecturer in Math - jjdart@alaska.edu

DeCaro, Peter - Associate Professor of Communication - padecaro@alaska.edu

Demientieff, LaVerne - Clinical Assistant Professor - lmdemientieff@alaska.edu

Demmerly, Arianna - Lecturer in Chemistry - ademmerly@alaska.edu

Dewey, Kathryn - Lecturer in Anthropology - kdewey1@alaska.edu

Dufour, Nicole - Lecturer in Anthropology - nmdufour@alaska.edu

Duke, Jon Robert - Assistant Professor of Justice - jrduke@alaska.edu

Galbraith, John - Instructor of Natural Resources - ttcf@vt.edu

George Bettisworth, Retchenda - Associate Professor of Social Work - rbgeorgebettisworth@alaska.edu

Green, Carie - Associate Professor of Education - cjgreen2@alaska.edu

Hirsch, Alexander - Associate Professor of Political Science - ahirsch@alaska.edu

Hogan, Maureen - Professor of Education - mphogan@alaska.edu

Holt, Joseph - Term Assistant Professor - jaholt3@alaska.edu

Howard, Terry - Associate Professor of Counseling - thoward12@alaska.edu

Izbekov, Pavel - Research Associate in Volcanology - peizbekov@alaska.edu

James, Nancy - Lecturer in English - nancycaroljames@gmail.com

Jones, Shann - Fly-fishing Instructor - spjones@alaska.edu

Kelley, Amanda - Assistant Professor - alkelley@alaska.edu

Klass, Margo - Lecturer in Art - margoklass@acsalaska.net

Konar, Brenda - Professor of Marine Biology - bhkonar@alaska.edu

Kremers, Carolyn - Lecturer in English - cskremers@alaska.edu

Lazarus, Jason - Lecturer in Journalism - jjlazarus@alaska.edu

Lotvonen, Varpu - Instructor of Anthropology - vmlotvonen@alaska.edu

Manthei, John - Lecturer in Art - john@thefolkschoolfairbanks.org

Metz, Paul - Professor of Geological Engineering - pametz@alaska.edu

Mills, Kendall - Instructor of Biology - kendall.k.mills@gmail.com

Mjolsnes, Gretchen - Lecturer in English - gemjolsnes@alaska.edu

Morotti, Allan - Associate Professor of Education and Counseling - aamorotti@alaska.edu

Oldmixon, Mark - Coordinator, Outdoor Adventures - mtoldmixon@alaska.edu

Olive, Frank - Lecturer in Recreation - folive@alaska.edu

Peña, Jess - Lecturer in Art - jrpena@alaska.edu

Perreault, Paul - Instructor of Engineering - pvperreault@alaska.edu

Peterson, Jennifer - Assistant Professor of Psychology - jrpeterson4@alaska.edu

Pomeroy, Shasta - Instructor in Crime Scene Investigation Camp - slpomeroy@alaska.edu

Quick, Kathleen - Lecturer in English - kaquick@alaska.edu

Rakower, Simon - Bicycle Maintenance Instructor - aws@mosquitonet.com

Rall, Sally - Instructor of Counseling - sjrall@alaska.edu

Russell, Jill - Visiting Summer Faculty, Biology - russelj6@gmail.com

Sager, Kevin - Associate Professor of Communication - ksager2@alaska.edu

Shannon, Teresa - Lecturer in Art - teresa.shannon@alaska.edu

Sikes, Derek - Professor of Biology - dsikes@alaska.edu

Smith, Gerad - Lecturer in Anthropology - gmsmith2@alaska.edu

Smith, Jamie - Lecturer in Art - jamienuggets@gmail.com

Smith, Ronald - Professor of Zoology, Emeritus - rlsmith@alaska.edu

Stomberg, Karen - Lecturer in Education - karstomberg@gmail.com

Sutton, Trent - Professor of Fisheries - tmsutton@alaska.edu

Thai, Linda - Lecturer in Social Work - lkthai@alaska.edu

Topkok, Sean - Associate Professor of People, Place and Pedagogy - cstopkok@alaska.edu

Turnbough, Kevin - Instructor in Basic Home Maintenance - kturnbough@alaska.edu

Walker, Donald - Professor of Biology - dawalker@alaska.edu

Weiland, Rebecca - Instructor in Swimming - rlweiland@alaska.edu

Xu, Wang - Instructor of Physics - wxu3@alaska.edu

When are Summer Sessions Courses taking place?

There are three scheduled sessions for Summer courses at UAF that we call "Summer Sessions"
Session I is a 6-week session, starting May 18, 2020 and ending June 26, 2020.
Session II is a 6 week session, starting June 29, 2020 and ending August 7, 2020.
Full Session is a 12-week session starting May 18, 2020 and ending August 7, 2020.

When are fees due for Summer Sessions?

Summer Sessions fees are due by the first day of the FIRST class attended. For example, if you have a Session I and Session II course, payment for both courses will be due by the start date of Session I. 

What is the credit limit for Summer Sessions?

Summer Sessions courses, while taught in a compressed time period, still require work equivalent to a full-length course offered during spring or fall semesters.

Summer workloads can be very heavy. Registration is limited to 1.25 weekly credit hours during any single week. A weekly credit hour is equal to course credit divided by course length.

Examples of Weekly Credit Hours:

  • 3 Cr - Six-week session = 0.50 weekly credits.
  • 3 Cr - Full session (12 weeks) = 0.25 weekly credits.

In a six-week session, you can take a maximum of seven credits. In a full session you can take a maximum of 14 credits.

To enroll with an overload (more than 1.25 weekly credit hours) requires a cumulative GPA of 3.0 and advisor approval on the Summer Sessions Credit Overload Approval Form.

What are the credit hours for Full-time and Part-time?

The credit hours needed for full and part-time course loads are the same as fall and spring semester. Keep in mind, this can be a combination of any sessions (MAYmester, 6-week, or 12-week) you are enrolled in. It's all considered one term. 

If you have questions about credit hours in regards to VA benefits, contact the Veteran and Military Services office. 

Do I have to be in Fairbanks to take Summer Sessions courses?

In order to take Summer Sessions & Lifelong Learning courses, you must be able to attend class at UAF for the meeting times designated by your instructor. Some Summer Sessions courses are offered vis web video, so you can attend even if you are not physically in Fairbanks.  We also offer blended courses, with a combination of in-person (or web video sessions) and online distance coursework. If you are looking for completely 'distance' based courses, contact eCampus. 

How do I drop a class?
You can use UAOnline to drop a class if  you are within the no-penalty period. You can also use the form below:

 More information about dates, deadlines, and fees can be foud on the Dates and Finances page. 

It is extremely important to drop or withdraw from courses that you do not plan to attend. Doing this can save you money, prevent a failing grade on your transcript, and eliminate the posibility of holds on your account.