Summer Sessions

Join Us for Summer!summer

Taking classes in the summer is a great way to complete GERs, stay on track to graduate, and make up courses you may have dropped. Enjoy smaller class sizes and take advantage of free study help for math, speech, and writing.  A bonus is that in summer, there is in-state tuition for all.

Registration for degree-seeking students for 2020 Summer Sessions courses begins on February 10, 2020.  Open registration for all students begins on February 24, 2020.

Please note that only classes offered by Summer Sessions & Lifelong Learning, which can be identified by a section number starting with 'F' and followed by numbers, are eligible for the Summer Sessions & Lifelong Learning Financial Aid. Courses that are administered by eCampus or CTC do not qualify for our financial aid.

 

 

Course Number

CRN

Title

Dates

Instructor

Credits


Ajango, Deb - debajango@gmail.com

Alam, Gazi ‘Mahmud’ - gmalam@alaska.edu

Albanese, Mary - marydalbanese@aol.com

Belz, Nathan - npbelz@alaska.edu

Bowman, Latrice - lnbowman@alaska.edu

Boylan, Brandon - bmboylan@alaska.edu

Carlson, Patricia - pecarlson@alaska.edu

Celaire, Jaunelle - jrcelaire@alaska.edu

Christian, Benjamin - bdchristian@alaska.edu

Colley, Melvin - melvincolley@hotmail.com

Criddle, Keith - kcriddle@alaska.edu

Croskrey, Wendy - wecroskrey@alaska.edu

Cuzovic-Severn, Marina - mcuzovicsevern@alaska.edu

DeCaro, Peter - padecaro@alaska.edu

Demientieff, LaVerne - lmdemientieff@alaska.edu

Demmerly, Arianna - ademmerly@alaska.edu

Dufour, Nicole - nmdufour@alaska.edu

Duke, Jon Robert - jrduke@alaska.edu

George Bettisworth, Retchenda - rbgeorgebettisworth@alaska.edu

Holt, Joseph - jaholt3@alaska.edu

Izbekov, Pavel - peizbekov@alaska.edu

James, Nancy - nancycaroljames@gmail.com

Jones, Shann - spjones@alaska.edu

Klass, Margo - margoklass@acsalaska.net

Konar, Brenda - bhkonar@alaska.edu

Lazarus, Jason - jjlazarus@alaska.edu

Lotvonen, Varpu - vmlotvonen@alaska.edu

Manthei, John - john@thefolkschoolfairbanks.org

Metz, Paul - pametz@alaska.edu

Mjolsnes, Gretchen - gemjolsnes@alaska.edu

Peña, Jess - jrpena@alaska.edu

Peterson, Jennifer - jrpeterson4@alaska.edu

Quick, Kathleen - kaquick@alaska.edu

Reynolds, Jennifer - jrreynolds@alaska.edu

Russell, Jill - russelj6@gmail.com

Sager, Kevin - ksager2@alaska.edu

Shannon, Teresa - teresa.shannon@alaska.edu

Sikes, Derek - dsikes@alaska.edu

Smith, Gerad - gmsmith2@alaska.edu

Smith, Jamie - jamienuggets@gmail.com

Smith, Ronald - rlsmith@alaska.edu

Speight, Jeremy - jspeight@alaska.edu

Stomberg, Karen - karstomberg@gmail.com

Sutton, Trent - tmsutton@alaska.edu

Thai, Linda - lkthai@alaska.edu

Topkok, Sean - cstopkok@alaska.edu

When are Summer Sessions Courses taking place?

There are three scheduled sessions for Summer courses at UAF that we call "Summer Sessions"
Session I is a 6-week session, starting May 18, 2020 and ending June 26, 2020.
Session II is a 6 week session, starting June 29, 2020 and ending August 7, 2020.
Full Session is a 12-week session starting May 18, 2020 and ending August 7, 2020.

When are fees due for Summer Sessions?

Summer Sessions fees are due by the first day of the FIRST class attended. For example, if you have a Session I and Session II course, payment for both courses will be due by the start date of Session I. 

What is the credit limit for Summer Sessions?

Summer Sessions courses, while taught in a compressed time period, still require work equivalent to a full-length course offered during spring or fall semesters.

Summer workloads can be very heavy. Registration is limited to 1.25 weekly credit hours during any single week. A weekly credit hour is equal to course credit divided by course length.

Examples of Weekly Credit Hours:

  • 3 Cr - Six-week session = 0.50 weekly credits.
  • 3 Cr - Full session (12 weeks) = 0.25 weekly credits.

In a six-week session, you can take a maximum of seven credits. In a full session you can take a maximum of 14 credits.

To enroll with an overload (more than 1.25 weekly credit hours) requires a cumulative GPA of 3.0 and advisor approval on the Summer Sessions Credit Overload Approval Form.

What are the credit hours for Full-time and Part-time?

The credit hours needed for full and part-time course loads are the same as fall and spring semester. Keep in mind, this can be a combination of any sessions (MAYmester, 6-week, or 12-week) you are enrolled in. It's all considered one term. 

If you have questions about credit hours in regards to VA benefits, contact the Veteran and Military Services office. 

Do I have to be in Fairbanks to take Summer Sessions courses?

In order to take Summer Sessions & Lifelong Learning courses, you must be able to attend class at UAF for the meeting times designated by your instructor. Some Summer Sessions courses are offered vis web video, so you can attend even if you are not physically in Fairbanks.  We also offer blended courses, with a combination of in-person (or web video sessions) and online distance coursework. If you are looking for completely 'distance' based courses, contact eCampus.