MAYmester

mmMAYmester 2020 Dates: May 4-15

Get ready for MAYmester 2020!  Complete a 3 credit course in two weeks. 

Courses are now available viewing on UAOnline and UAF Coursefinder.

Registration opens Feburary 10, 2020 for degree-seekers. Open Registration begins February 24, 2020.  

 

 

   

 

 

Course Number

CRN

Title

Dates

Instructor

Credits

Ajango, Deb - Lecturer in Emergency Medical Services - debajango@gmail.com

Collins, Roy - Assistant Professor - recollins@alaska.edu

Cuzovic-Severn, Marina - Assistant Professor of Spanish - mcuzovicsevern@alaska.edu

Duke, Rob - Assistant Professor of Justice - jrduke@alaska.edu

Hardy, Sarah - Associate Professor - smhardy@alaska.edu

Hirsch, Alexander - Associate Professor of Political Science - ahirsch@alaska.edu

Lazarus, Jason - Lecturer in Journalism - jjlazarus@alaska.edu

Peña, Jess - Lecturer in Art - jrpena@alaska.edu

Raymond, Wendel - wraymond2@alaska.edu

Rinio, Deborah - Program Coordinator/Curriculum Developer -  djrinio@alaska.edu

Shoaps, Robin - Assistant Professor - rashoaps@alaska.edu

Speight, Jeremy - Assistant Professor of Political Science - jspeight@alaska.edu

Q: How many credits can I take during MAYmester?
A: Limit of three.

Q: Are MAYmester credits counted in my total summer credit load?
A: Yes.

Q: What if MAYmester causes a credit overload in my summer schedule?
A: Banner will not accept a registration that creates a credit overload without prior authorization. It is understood that a MAYmester course is offered in a separate time frame from other summer courses, but Banner doesn't see it that way. To get overload permission entered into Banner to take a MAYmester course, students can email registrar@uaf.edu with their student ID and the requested MAYmester course name and CRN. It is helpful to put "MAYmester Credit Overload" in the subject line. Call 907-474-7500 for additional information.

Q: What about housing during MAYmester?
A: Dorm space will be available during MAYmester for spring students only. Check with the Office of Residence Life for more information. 474-7247.

Q: When is payment due?
A: Payment is due the first day of class, May 6.

Q: What about dates and deadlines for MAYmester?
A: May 6 - Last day to register and attendance is required.  Last day for drop with 100% refund.
May 13 - Last day for student or faculty initiated withdrawal or change to audit with instructor permission.

Q: How do I get prepared for the first class?
A: The first day of a MAYmester course is like the first week of a semester length course. In order to be prepared for the rapid pace of the course, reading is usually required prior to the start of class. The pre-course assignment can be found in the course syllabus.

Q: Do employee tuition waivers work for MAYmester?
A: Yes.