SSS Tutors

Meet Our Tutors

Our tutors are available Monday-Friday in the Tutoring Center. Check our detailed schedule for available times.

If you have used our tutoring services, please fill out an evaluation form. You can also click on each tutor's picture to navigate to the evaluation form.

Genevieve Johnson


Sidney Huhndorf: I'm currently attending UAF as a student in the Petroleum Engineering program. I hope to graduate with a B.S. in Petroleum Engineering and start a career in the oil and gas industry shortly after. I'm from Galena, which is a small town along the Yukon River approx. 360 or so nautical miles west of Fairbanks. Hobbies and interests of mine include Longboarding, snowboarding, flying, automotive projects, drinking coffee and racing autocross.

I am Dallon Knight. I tutor in BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, and MATH. I study chemistry at UAF and am planning on being a Pharmacist one day. I moved to Alaska in 2012 with my wife to go to school here. I was born and raised in southern Utah (the part with all the cool rocks). I enjoy learning new things, hiking, fishing, hunting, mountain biking, movies, board games, cooking, and all sorts of stuff. I have worked at SSS for two years already and really love to help other people understand the things they are learning.

Nicole Kelly

My name is Nicole Kelly. I tutor in Chemistry, Math, and English. I have a wonderful family, which consists of my great husband Phillip, two awesome daughters Sabrina and Naomi, and our two furry forever-babies Mick and Dooley. 

Alan Lipka

My name is Alan Lipka. I tutor in math and psychology. I received a bachelors in Psychology from UAF in 2009 and am currently studying Mining Engineering. I was born in Alaska and have lived in Fairbanks for most of my life. When I'm not studying I enjoy snowboarding, camping, cooking and getting addicted to TV shows in the winter. I just started working at SSS and am really excited about getting to help others. 

Omo Oisamoje

Omo Oisamoje and I will be tutoring in biology and chemistry. I doctor of pharmacy degree (Pharm.D) from the University of Wyoming and I am currently pursuing my Masters in Business Administration. I admire nature from a distance and I love anything fashion, beauty, food, and traveling. In my spare time, I enjoy volunteering, hanging out with friends, shopping or working on my fashion blog.

Gina Rotermund

Gina Rotermund and I tutor English and Spanish. I was born and raised here in Fairbanks, and absolutely love Alaska. When I'm not drowning in copious amounts of reading assignments, I love getting outside (even in the winter time!). I enjoy hiking, camping, running, skiing, and spending quality time with my friends.

Keanu Paikai

 Hi, I am Keanu Paikai. I tutor in Math, Physics, and Engineering courses. I am studying mechanical engineering.



Ken Shin

Hello! My name is Kenneth Shin. People call me Ken. I was born and raised in Seoul, South Korea. My parents and I moved to California about 10 years ago. I have been in Fairbanks about two years and love this place. I used to live near Yosemite National Park in California so I did a lot of hiking, camping, and fishing. Fly-fishing for salmon here is a truly awesome experience. When I am not studying for Biochemistry or working, I like to travel, learn new languages, and play baseball and tennis. My life-time goal is to visit all 30 baseball stadiums in the U.S. I am studying at UAF to earn a Ph.D. in Biochemistry and do a cancer research about metabolism and genetic markers for proto-oncogenes.

David Schweigert


Patrick Steckman

Hi, I am Patrick Steckman and I tutor Math and Engineering. I am currently in pursuit of a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Engineering. After I graduate, I am hoping to pursue a career working with UAV’s/UAS’s. Over the summer I helped with the Modern Blanket Toss program, which works with high school students from the different rural communities, to learn about and how to use UAV’s. I served in the military for three and half years as an imagery analyst. Feel free to ask me about it because it was fun and is related to what I want to pursue after my degree. Outside of work and school, I tend to play with my dog and hang out with my wife.

Back to Top