The North and West Alaska Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (NWA-CESU) is part of a broader national framework of CESUs which are divided into 17 distinct biogeographic regions. The University of Alaska hosts the NWA-CESU, with 20 partners.  The NWA-CESU focuses on Arctic and Subarctic anthropology, landscapes, ecology, archeology, and physical and biological sciences.

NWA-CESU Mission Statement
To create a collaborative partnership between academic and federal partners that delivers high quality science and human expertise in Alaska's unique cultures and ecosystems to federal resource management, environmental and research agencies that have responsibilities or interest in northern latitude issues.

Lake Eklutna Near Anchorage, AK

Back to Top