Current Faculty

Patrick Marlow
Linguistics Program Chair
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 1997.
Historical linguistics, indigenous language teacher training.
Brooks 306F 

pemarlow@alaska.edu
907-474-7446

Anna Berge
Director: Alaska Native Language Archive
Professor of Linguistics

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 1998
Eskimo-Aleut languages, syntax, discourse.
Brooks 421 

amberge@alaska.edu
907-474-5351

Burns Cooper
Professor of English
Ph.D. University of Texas 1989
Forensic linguistics, poetics, intonation
Gruening 858 

gbcooper@alaska.edu
907-474-5303

Robin Shoaps
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D. University of California Santa Barbara, 2004
Linguistic anthropology, anthropology of Christianity, discourse analysis, self and subjectivity, ethnography of moralities, indigenous languages and cultures; Mesoamerica and the United States
Bunnell 307D 

rashoaps@alaska.edu
907-474-6884

Sabine Siekmann
Professor of Linguistics & Foreign Languages

Ph.D. University of South Florida, 2004
Second language acquisition, computer assisted language learning
Brooks 306B 

ssiekmann@alaska.edu
907-474-6580

Siri Tuttle
Director: Alaska Native Language Center
Professor of Linguistics
Ph.D. University of Washington, 1998
Phonology, Athabascan/Dene linguistics
Brooks 425 

sgtuttle@alaska.edu
907-474-5708

Wendy Martelle
Assistant Professor of Linguistics
PhD University of Pittsburgh 2011
Second Language Acquisition, Russian Linguistics, Tense-Aspect Morphology
Brooks 306C 

wmmartelle@alaska.edu
907-474-6604