About the Graduate School

The University of Alaska Fairbanks offers 17 Ph.D. programs, 49 Master’s degree programs, several Post Baccalaureate Certificate programs and a cooperative/collaborative Ph.D. program with the University of Alaska Anchorage. UAF enrolls approximately 1,500 students in graduate studies from all 50 states and territories, and countries from all over the world.

The Graduate School works with the Director and the many UAF graduate programs to provide guidance for your degree completion. We work closely with your department to follow your progress and are ready to help you with questions and concerns


The University of Alaska Fairbanks was founded in 1917 and has been continuously accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities  (NWCCU - formerly the Commission on Colleges of the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges) since 1934. NWCCU is one of six Regional Accrediting Associations for Institutions of Higher Education that are recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.