Angayuqaq Oscar Kawagley Indigenous Scholar Award

Dr. Angayuqaq Oscar Kawagley was a Yupiaq scholar who served 25 Years as faculty with the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Along with Dr. Ray Barnhardt, he helped to create the Center Cross-Cultural Studies at UAF. In so doing he introduced the construct of "Native Ways of Knowing" and contributed greatly to the academic field of Indigenous knowledge and broader cross-cultural sharing.

The Indigenous Studies Program located within the Center for Cross-Cultural Studies and College of Liberal Arts at UAF offers a collaborative interdiscriplinary PhD program that is a direct result of Dr. Kawagley's lifetime of work.

It is our honor each year to present the Angayuqaq Oscar Kawagley award to a person or group that exempliefies the values Angayuqaq worked so hard to celebrate. 


In recognition of Angayuqaq Oscar Kawagley's contribution to articulating the significance of Indigenous knowledge systems, ways of knowleding the world views in the contemporary world, the UAF Alaska Native Knowledge Network hereby establishes the AOK Indigenous Scholar Award in his honor. The Award will be presented annually to recognize and encourage Indigenous scholars who have made exemplary contributions to our understanding of Indigenous knoweldge systems and Native ways of knowing in Alaska. The Award amount will be based upon available funds and the qualifications of the nominees, there is no minimum or maximum award amount.


The Angayuqaq Oscar Kawagley Award to be presented annually to recognize an Indigenous scholar who has made a significant contribution to our understanding of Indigenous knolwedge systems and Native ways of knowing in Alaska.


Family and friends of Oscar's, represented by:

Dr. Raymond Barnhardt

PO Box 756730

Fairbanks, AK 99775-6730


To donate online CLICK HERE

Your donation is very much appreciated. All funds helps the Center for Cross-Cultural Studies and Alaska Native Knowledge Network continue to give the award once a year.

Randall Tetlichi, 2018

Goldbelt Heritage Foundation, 2017

Dr. Elizabeth Fleagle, 2016

Dora Andrews-Ihrke and Eva Evelyn Yanez 2015

Kenneth Frank, 2014

Dr. Gordon L. Pullar 2013

Back to Top