Professor of Mining Engineering, Emeritus

WHEREAS Dr. Sukumar Bandopadhyay has served the University of Alaska Fairbanks with distinction in teaching, research and public service from 1982 to 2016; and

WHEREAS Dr. Bandopadhyay has been a dedicated teacher and mentor to generations of undergraduate and graduate students of mining engineering, challenging and motivating them to excel; and served as the Dean of the School of Mineral Engineering from 2001 to 2005, leading it through the successful merger that formed the College of Engineering and Mines; and

WHEREAS Dr. Bandopadhyay conducted valuable research on the mining and utilization of Alaska’s extensive coal deposits, including studies of how this resource could benefit remote rural communities; and Dr. Bandopadhyay’s research has been reported in more than one hundred publications on topics that included air quality in open pit mines, combustion of pulverized coal and computer simulation of mines; and

WHEREAS Dr. Bandopadhyay was honored by the Pittsburgh Coal Mining Institute of America in 2016 with the coveted Steven McCann Memorial Education Excellence Award, and has received numerous other national and international awards;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the University of Alaska Fairbanks expresses its deep appreciation to Dr. Sukumar Bandopadhyay for his extensive contributions to the State of Alaska and to the University; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the University of Alaska Fairbanks, in further recognition of the invaluable services rendered by Dr. Bandopadhyay and as evidence of the University’s desire that his identification with the University be maintained, hereby salutes the appointment of Dr. Sukumar Bandopadhyay as Professor of Mining Engineering, Emeritus; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be appropriately engrossed and signed by the Chancellor of the University of Alaska Fairbanks as further evidence of the esteem and respect in which he holds Dr. Sukumar Bandopadhyay, and conveyed to Dr. Bandopadhyay on this 6th day of May, 2017.

Back to Top