Dr. Kathleen M. Butler-Hopkins

Professor of Music, Emeritus

Whereas Dr. Kathleen M. Butler-Hopkins has served the University of Alaska Fairbanks with distinction in teaching, research and public service from 1979 to 2014; and

Whereas Dr. Butler-Hopkins has been a widely admired and sought-after instructor whose methods and care in instruction have garnered her the College of Liberal Arts Excellence in Teaching Award and the Alaska American String Teachers Association String Teacher of the Year; and

Whereas Dr. Butler-Hopkins has taught a range of undergraduate and graduate courses; and has formally advised dozens of undergraduate and undergraduate students during her tenure at the University; and has further served as mentor to countless young musicians in her role as concertmaster and accompanist; and

Whereas Dr. Butler-Hopkins has an exemplary record of service to the University and the music community, having offered her insights, opinions and expertise in a variety of contexts, from participation on departmental committees to leadership in many community organizations such as the Fairbanks Symphony Orchestra, the Fairbanks Choral Arts Orchestra and the Fairbanks Suzuki Institute;

Now, therefore, be it resolved that the University of Alaska Fairbanks expresses its deep appreciation to Dr. Kathleen M. Butler-Hopkins for her extensive contributions to the State of Alaska and to the University; and

Be it further resolved that the University of Alaska Fairbanks, in further recognition of the invaluable services rendered by Dr. Butler-Hopkins and as evidence of the University’s desire that her identification with the University be maintained, hereby salutes the appointment of Dr. Kathleen M. Butler-Hopkins as Professor of Music, Emeritus; and

Be it further resolved that this resolution be appropriately engrossed and signed by the Chancellor of the University of Alaska Fairbanks as further evidence of the esteem and respect in which he holds Dr. Kathleen M. Butler-Hopkins, and conveyed to Dr. Butler-Hopkins on this day of May 11, 2014.

Back to Top