

P.O. Box 757500
P.O. Box 757500
Fairbanks, Alaska 99775-7500
907-474-7112
uaf.chancellor@alaska.edu
www.uaf.edu/chancellor/

April 5, 2024

TO: Carla Browning, UAF Onboarding and Engagement Manager

FROM: Daniel M. White, Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks

SUBJ: UAF Employee Experience Task Force

Pending your acceptance, I am pleased to appoint you as the Chair of the UAF Employee Experience Task Force (EETF). The EETF will address the UA Employee Experience Survey results released in February 2024. This task force is responsible for analyzing the employee experience survey (EES) data and providing me with recommendations on expanding on UAF's strengths and addressing areas in need of improvement

The chair and task force members are responsible for identifying the frequency and length of meetings. The EETF is not expected to work during the summer while faculty are off contract. Expected deliverables include:

- May 1, 2024: Short-term recommendations to improve the employee experience that can be implemented in Fall 2024
- Dec. 1, 2024: Long-term recommendations to improve the employee experience and final report

Following the delivery of the final report, the UAF Employee Experience Task Force will sunset unless the EETF requests an extension.

Charge & Responsibilities

The UAF Employee Experience Task Force will have the following responsibilities:

- Review survey data available from the UA Employee Experience Survey distributed by UAHR in February 2024
- Provide recommendations on how to grow areas of strength identified in EES.
- Provide recommendations on how to address areas in need of improvement identified in EES data.
- Provide specific recommendations to improve the employee experience for groups disaggregated in the data (faculty, staff, remote, etc.)

Process

- On the requested dates, the EETF will deliver short-term and long-term recommendations to improve the employee experience. Recommendations will be submitted to the Chancellor by the chair in writing.
- If time-sensitive recommendations come up outside of the report delivery dates, they should be submitted to the Chancellor by the chair in writing.



Membership

Membership in the EETF consists of self-nominees and representation from Shared Governance groups. The EETF will consist of a chair, one representative from the Faculty Senate, one representative from the Staff Council, one representative from ASUAF, and representation of staff and faculty members. The University of Alaska Human Resources (UAHR) department will hold an ex officio advisory role on the task force.

Pending acceptance of appointees, membership for UAF Employee Experience Task Force will include:

Carla Browning, Chair	UAF Onboarding and Engagement Manager
Kacey Miller	Staff Council / College of Rural and Community Development Staff
Marine Gillespie	Alaska Center for UAS Integration Staff
David Hooper	Facilities Services Staff
Hannah Robinson	Center for Alaska Native Health and Research/Institute of Arctic Biology Staff
Kristin Summerlin	University Relations
Richie Berndt	Faculty Senate / Community and Technical College
Holly Dean	UAF Rasmuson Library Faculty
Kay McMonigal	College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences Faculty
Zoë Marie Jones	College of Liberal Arts Faculty
Nima Farzadnia	College of Engineering and Mines Faculty
Kathy Kitts	ASUAF
Margo Griffith	UAHR Ex Officio Member

Please contact the Executive Assistant to the Chancellor at mkking2@alaska.edu if you are able to accept your appointment to the EETF.

DMW:mkk

