



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

**CONTACT:** 

December 14, 2005

## **UAF Faculty Member Receives Fulbright Senior Specialists Award**

Stephen C. Jewett, Research Professor and UA Diving Safety Officer at the School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, University of Alaska Fairbanks, has been selected for a Fulbright Senior Specialists project in CHILE at Catholic University of the North (CUN) during 2006, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Dr. Jewett's visit at the Center for Advanced Studies in the Arid Zones, CUN, during January and February will be mainly involve scientific exchange as he shares his marine research experience with faculty, staff and students. He will also interact with his colleague, Dr. Carlos Gaymer, relative to the recent oil spill that occurred off Antofagasta, CHILE.

Dr. Jewett is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad in 2006 through the Fulbright Senior Specialists Program. The Fulbright Senior Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America's flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 59 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, CEO of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Senior Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A&M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and Executive Director of the RISE Institute.

For further information about the Fulbright Senior Specialists Program, please contact <u>FULSPEC@cies.iie.org</u> or consult <u>www.cies.org</u>.