Principal Investigators

Researchers who use CDR for proposal and grant management

Claire AlixClaire Alix
Research Professional, Alaska Quaternary Center
Office: 373 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4746387
Email: cmalix@alaska.edu

Research interests: Ethnoarchaeology of wood use in the Arctic; driftwood studies; tree-ring research.
Elizabeth AllmanElizabeth Allman
Professor, Mathematics
Office: 308B Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4742479
Email: esallman@alaska.edu
URL: https://eallman.github.io/

Research interests: Phylogenetics; models of molecular evolution; Markov processes on trees; algebra.
Nina AvdoninaNina Avdonina
Adjunct Instructor, Mathematics
Office: 107 Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4747273
Email: navdonina@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/dms/avdonina/

Research interests: Quantum computing; computations related to electron scattering and ion photonization; inversion methods.
Sergei AvdoninSergei Avdonin
Professor, Mathematics
Office: 304A Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4745023
Email: saavdonin@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/dms/avdonin/

Research interests: Nonharmonic Fourier series; partial differential equations; control theory; inverse problems.
Leah Berman-WilliamsLeah Wrenn Berman
Professor, Mathematics; Chair, Mathematics and Statistics
Office: 102 Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4747123
Email: lwberman@alaska.edu

Research interests: Configurations of points and lines, especially with symmetry; arrangements of lines; discrete geometry.
Nancy BigelowNancy Bigelow
Research Professional, Alaska Quaternary Center
Office: 323 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745433
Email: nhbigelow@alaska.edu

Research interests: Arctic paleoecology; palynology; vegetation history; and ecosystem reponses to climate change during the Quaternary period.
Eddy CarmackEdward C. Carmack
Sydney Chapman Co-Chair, UAF- 2006-2015
Phone: (250) 363-6585
Email: Eddy.Carmack@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Research interests: oceanography; climate change; Arctic sea ice; role of continental shelf areas in water mass formation and modification; and much more.
Douglas DasherDouglas Dasher
Title: Adjunct Research Faculty
Office: 135 Irving II Building
Phone: 907-4746840
Email: dhdasher@alaska.edu

Research interests: Radiation monitoring; water quality.
Cary de WitCary de Wit
Associate Professor, Geography
Office: 342 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4747141
Email: cwdewit@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/geology/faculty/#d

Research interests: Cultural geography, North American regional cultures, rural cultures, perceptual geography, and sense of place.
Larry DuffyLarry Duffy
Professor, Institute of Arctic Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Office: 246 West Ridge Research Building
Phone: 907-4747525
Email: lkduffy@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/chem/faculty/lduffy

Research interests: Biomarkers for health of wildlife; mercury in subsistence food; effect of contaminants on CNS.
Mary EdwardsMary E. Edwards
Professor, Geography and Environment
Office: University of Southampton, Highfield, Southampton
Phone: +44 (0)23 80592217
Email: M.E.Edwards@soton.ac.uk
URL: Professional website

Research interests: Arctic environmental change, particularly the effects of climate change on landscape and vegetation over long (millennial) timescales.
Sarah FowellSarah Fowell
Professor, Geology; Chair, Alaska Quaternary Center
Office: 326 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4747810
Email: sjfowell@alaska.edu

Research interests: Reconstruction of ancient ecosystems and climates through identification of pollen and spores preserved in lacustrine sediments or rocks.
Glenda FindlayGlenda Findlay
Director, K-12 Outreach
Office: Suite 108, Butrovich Building
Phone: 907-4508406
Email: gkfindlay@alaska.edu

Research interests: STEM literacy and outreach; K-12 curricula development; K-12 teacher education.
Scott GoddardScott Goddard
Assistant Professor, Statistics
Office: 306B Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4745514
Email: sdgoddard@alaska.edu

Research interests: Bayesian modeling and inference; spatial statistics and environmetrics; linear models and experimental design.
Jennifer GuerardJennifer Guerard
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Office: 180 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745231
Email: jguerard@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/chem/faculty/jguerard/

Research interests: DOM, organic contaminant transformation; biogeochemical cycling; analytical and spectroscopic methods; and quantum chemical modeling.
Carie GreenCarie Green
Associate Professor, Chemistry
Office: 712B Gruening Building
Phone: 907-4745516
Email: cjgreen2@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/soe/about-us/faculty/CarieGreen

Research interests: Young children as researcher & their environmental identity development; indigenous relations with place; pedagogy in teacher education; sustainability education.
Cristina HansenCristina (Nina) Hansen
Post-Doctoral Researcher and Instructor Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging and Foundations
Office: 182C Arctic Health & Research Building
Phone: 907-4741504
Email: cmhansen@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/vmed/about-us/steering-committee/hansen-cristina/

Research interests: zoonotic disease and pathogen discovery in Alaskan wildlife.
Keiko HerrickKeiko Herrick
Professional Researcher, K-12 Outreach
Office: Suite 108, Butrovich Building
Phone: 907-4508523
Email: kaherrick@alaska.edu

Research interests: STEM literacy and outreach; K-12 curricula development; K-12 teacher education.
Karsten HuefferKarsten Hueffer
Associate Professor Microbiology, Veterinary Medicine
Office: 2W02 Arctic Health Research Building
Phone: 907-4746313
Email: khueffer@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/vmed/about-us/steering-committee/hueffer-karsten//

Research interests: Infectious diseases; disease surveillance.
Ute KadenUte Kaden
Associate Professor; Chair, Secondary Education
Office: 709C Gruening Building 
Phone: 907-4745721
Email: ukaden@alaska.edu

Research interests: STEM education; teacher preparedness.
Thomas KuhnThomas Kuhn
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Office: 184 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745752
Email: tbkuhn@alaska.edu

Research interests: Regulation of NOX enzymes in CNS neurons; consequences of redox modifications on actin dynamics; characterization of natural products from blueberries.
Don LarsonDon Larson
Term Instructor, Human Anatomy and Physiology
Office: 270 Arctic Health Research Building
Phone: 907-4746067
Email: djlarson@alaska.edu

Research interests: Ecophysiology; physiology; parasitology; disease ecology; overwintering; freeze tolerance; cryobiology; thermal physiology.
Jerry LipkaJerry Lipka
Term Instructor, Cross-Cultural Studies
Email: jmlipka@alaska.edu

Research interests: Cross-Cultural education; math in a cultural context.
Lisa LunnLisa Lunn
Associate Professor Veterinary Medicine/Large Animal Extension Veterinarian
Office: 182A Arctic Health Research Building
Phone: 907-4747926
Email: llunn@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/vmed/about-us/steering-committee/lunn-lisa/

Research interests: Food animal medicine; metabolic and neonatal diseases of ruminants.
Chris MaioChristopher Maio
Assistant Professor, Geography
Office: 368 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745651
Email: cvmaio@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/geology/faculty/#m

Research interests: Coastal processes; climate and environmental change; landcover dynamics.
Dan MannDan Mann
Associate Professor, Geography
Office: 366 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4746929
Email: dhmann@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/geology/faculty/#m

Research interests: Forest ecology, ice-age climate change, and the interactions between prehistoric humans and changing climate.
David MaxwellDavid Maxwell
Associate Professor, Mathematics
Office: 308C Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4741196
Email: damaxwell@alaska.edu

Research interests: Geometric analysis; general relativity; inverse problems in glaciology.
Molly MurphyMolly Murphy
Assistant Professor, Veterinary Pathology
Office: 182 Arctic Health
Phone: 907-4741928
Email: mdmurphy@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/vmed/about/steering-committee/murphy-molly/

Research interests: Interactions between viruses and their vertebrate and invertebrate hosts.
Julie McIntyreJulie McIntyre
Associate Professor, Statistics
Office: 306B Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4747772
Email: jpmcintyre@alaska.edu

Research interests: Measurement error models and nonparametric statistics.

Elisabeth NadinElisabeth Nadin
Associate Professor, Geology
Office: 334 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745181
Email: enadin@alaska.edu

Research interests: Structural geology; geothermometry; GIS.
Rainer NewberryRainer Newberry
Professor, Geology
Office: 328 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4746895
Email: rjnewberry@alaska.edu

Research interests: Genesis of ores and ore deposit exploration; field and theoretical geochemistry.
David NewmanDavid Newman
Professor, Physics
Office: 112 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4747858
Email: denewman@alaska.edu
URL: ffden-2.phys.uaf.edu

Research interests: Turbulent and complex systems.
Sam NorlinSam Norlin
Staff, K-12 Outreach
Office: Suite 108, Butrovich Building
Phone: 907-4508360
Email: stnorlin@alaska.edu

Research interests: STEM literacy and outreach; K-12 curricula development; K-12 teacher education.
Todd O'HaraTodd O'Hara
Professor, Institute of Arctic Biology, Biology and Wildlife
Office: 182B Arctic Health Research Building
Phone:907-474 extns. 1838/2798/7039
Email: tmohara@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/vmed/about/steering-committee/ohara-todd/

Research interests: Toxicology; Wildlife Diseases; Environmental Contaminants; Food quality and safety.
Scott Ryan OliverScott Ryan Oliver
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Office: 182 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745621
Email: sroliver@alaska.edu


Research interests: Systemic responses to hyper- and hypothermic events.
Erin PettitErin Pettit
Associate Professor, Geophysics (Glaciology)
Office: 338 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745389
Email: ecpettit@alaska.edu
URL: exploreice.org

Research interests: Glacier dynamics and climate change.
Brian RasleyBrian Rasley
Associate Professor, UAF ANSEP Director, Bristol Bay Campus, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Office: 178 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745029
Email: btrasley@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/chem/faculty/brasley

Research interests: Metabolic suppression mechanisms; inorganic/organometallic synthesis; environmental chemistry.
Arleigh ReynoldsArleigh Reynolds
Associate Dean DVM & Associate Professor of Veterinary Nutrition
Office: 182D Arctic Health Research Building
Phone: 907-4747904
Email: ajreynolds@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/vmed/about-us/steering-committee/reynolds-arleigh/

Research interests: Clinical nutrition, exercise physiology, metabolic diseases of domestic animals, energy metabolism, general physiology
John RhodesJohn Rhodes
Professor, Mathematics
Office: 302B Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4745445
Email: jarhodes2@alaska.edu
URL: https://jarhodesuaf.github.io/

Research interests: Mathematical framework underlying phylogenetics; probabilistic models of sequence evolution.
Anthony (Tony) RickardAnthony (Tony) Rickard
Professor, Mathematics
Office: 102 Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4745374
Email: adrickard@alaska.edu

Research interests: Problem solving; curriculum development; multicultural and rural education.
Alexei RybkinAlexei Rybkin
Professor, Mathematics
Office: 304B Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4746002
Email: arybkin@alaska.edu

Research interests: Partial and ordinarily differential equations; mathematical physics; operator theory and complex analysis.
Dave SchollDavid Scholl
Sydney Chapman Co-Chair, UAF- 2006-2015
Phone: (650) 329-4762
Email: DScholl@usgs.gov
URL: Dave Scholl announced AGU Fellow

Research interests: marine geology; understanding convergent plate boundaries; sediment-hosted gas hydrates.
Ken SeverinKen Severin
Former Director, Advanced Instrumentation Laboratory
Office: 324 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745821
Email: kpseverin@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/ail/

Research interests: Micropaleontology; elemental signatures in otoliths; microstructure analysis.
Karen SpaletaKaren Spaleta
Manager, Advanced Instrumentation Laboratory
Office: 147 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745452
Email: kjspaleta@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/ail/

Research interests: Inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (ICP-MS); instrumentation; condensed matter physics.
Christine ThomsonChristine (Chris) Thomson
Associate Professor, Veterinary Medicine
Office: 180 Arctic Health & Research Building
Phone: 907-4742749
Email: cthomson2@alaska.edu
URL: www.uaf.edu/vmed/about-us/steering-committee/thomson-chris/

Research interests: neuroscience.
Tom TrainorTom Trainor
Professor, Chemistry
Office: 183 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4745628
Email: tptrainor@alaska.edu
URL: https://uaf.edu/chem/faculty/ttrainor/

Research interests: Environmental geochemistry; heavy metal contamination in soils and waters.
Amy VinloveAmy Vinlove
Director, School of Education
Office: 713B Gruening Building 
Phone: 907-4747701; 4746898
Email: alvinlove@alaska.edu

Research interests: Elementary education; sustaining indigenous and local knowledge, arts and teaching.
Renate WackerbauerRenate Wackerbauer
Professor, Physics
Office: 106 Reichardt Building
Phone: 907-4746108
Email: rawackerbauer@alaska.edu
URL: http://ffden-2.phys.uaf.edu/wacker/

Research interests: Complex dynamics; stochastic dynamical systems; nonlinear time series analysis and modeling of biological systems.
Gordon WilliamsGordon Williams
Associate Professor, Mathematics
Office: 303B Chapman Building
Phone: 907-4742756
Email: giwilliams@alaska.edu
URL: https://sites.google.com/a/alaska.edu/gordon-williams/

Research interests: Abstract polytopes.