Previous Recipients


2022 Business Leader of the Year

Joe Usibelli Jr., President/CEO of Usibelli Coal Mine, is the 2022 Business Leader of the Year!

He was honored at a dinner and award ceremony on Friday, November 18, 2022.

To view more photos from the event, click the links below:

Thank you for your support of the 2022 UAF Business Leader of the Year. Over 300 Alaska community leaders, faculty, and students came together to support CBSM students at the sold-out event. Thanks to the generous commitment of businesses, individuals and our sponsors, we raised more than $450,000 in support of CBSM student organizations, development and scholarships.


Previous Recipients

Year awarded Name Company Program Media
2022 Joe Usibelli Jr. Usibelli Coal Mine Program Photos
2019 Jim Dodson Fairbanks Economic Development Corporation Program Photos
2018 *Cliff & Rob Everts Everts Air Fuel & Everts Air Cargo Program Photos  Video
2017 Steve Lundgren Denali State Bank Program Photos Steve Tribute Video  Student Video
2016 Bob Hajdukovich Ravn Air Group, Inc. Program Facebook Photos Student Video
2015  Andrew Warwick Warwick & Schikora, CPAs Program Facebook Photos Student Video
2014 Lorna Shaw Sumitomo Metal Mining Pogo, LLC Program Facebook Photos
2013 David Hale Hale & Associates, Inc. Program



2012 Dan Gavora Doyon Utilities Program Facebook
2011   Kyong Hollen Santina's Flowers & Gifts Program Facebook
2010  Bernie Karl Chena Hot Springs Resort Program  Facebook

Due to updates in technology, the program, Facebook page, and additional attachments are unavailable for BLOY recipients before 2010.

2009  Dr. Cary S. Keller Sports Medicine of Fairbanks
2008 Jyotsna "Jo" Heckman First female bank president in the history of Alaska at Denali State Bank,  UA Board of Regents (2011-2019)
2007 Jack Wilbur Design Alaska
2006  Jim Lund Wells Fargo Bank
2005 Ginger Stock-McKenzie WebWeavers Technology Group
2004  Michael Cook Cook & Haugeberg LLC
2003 John Hill Kendall Auto Group (previously Auto Service Company and Toyota)
2002 Bart LeBon Mt. McKinley Bank
2001    Steve Frank & Linda Anderson River's Edge Resort
2000 *George Gordon

College Utilities Corporation, Utility Services of Alaska

1999 Rhonda Curwen-Boyles Alaska Franchise Management, Wendy's
1998 Margaret Russell Seekins Ford Lincoln Mercury
1997  *Morris Thompson Doyon Limited
1996 *Norm & Angie Kruckenberg Fairbanks Lumber, Fairbanks Ace Hardware
1995  Gary Wilken Fairbanks Distributors, Golden Heart Foods, Alaska State Senator (1997-2008)
1994 Larry Doll

Golden Frontier Enterprises, McDonald's

1993  Jim & *Jinx Whitaker New Horizons Gallery
1992 Gary Roth Denali State Bank
1991 Tim Fargo TopLine Strategies, MicroAge Computers
1990 Ralph Seekins Seekins Ford Lincoln Mercury 
1989 *Captain Jim Binkley Riverboat Discovery
1988  Walt Schlotfeldt Petro Star, Sourdough Inc.
1987  *Mike Kelly GVEA
1986  *William 'Bill' Green Alaska National Bank of the North, active in Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce, Aviation Committee
1985  Jeff Cook Williams Alaska Petroleum, Cook Company Realtors, 1985 Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce Board President, served on UA Board of Regents, UA Foundation
1984 *Lawrence Heiner NERCO Minerals
1983 Judy Robertson

Arctic Travelers Gift Shop

1982 Marc Langland Northrim Bank - (Previously Alaska Pacific Bank Corporation)
1981 *Ray Kohler

Kohler CPA., Ray Kohler & Co.

1980 *Wally Burnett Tiki Cove, Polaris Building, Fairbanks City Council
1979  *Ron Nerland Greater Fairbanks Community Hospital Foundation
1978 *Joseph Usibelli Sr. Usibelli Coal Mine
1977 *Paul Gavora Gavora Inc., Market Basket Stores

* Deceased