CAPS Affiliates

 

Milo Adkison, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
University of Alaska Fairbanks

mdadkison@alaska.edu

Research Interests: salmon biology, salmon management, stock assessment, population dynamics, biostatistics

Website

 

Sine Anahita, Ph.D.

Program Coordinator and Associate Professor, Sociology
University of Alaska Fairbanks

sine.anahita@alaska.edu

Research Interests: gender & sexuality; organized inequalities; death, dying, and grief; alt-right in AK social media

Website

 

Brian Barnes, Ph.D.

Professor of Zoophysiology, Department of Biology and Wildlife
Director, Institute of Arctic Biology
University of Alaska Fairbanks

bmbarnes@alaska.edu

Research Interests: mammalian hibernation, cryobiology, biological rhythms

Website

 

Kevin Berry

Assistant Professor, Institute of Social and Economic Research and Department of Economics and Public Policy
University of Alaska Anchorage

kberry13@alaska.edu

Website

 

Allison Bidlack, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Director, Alaska Coastal Rainforest Center
University of Alaska Southeast

albidlack@alaska.edu

Research Interests: coastal margins, rainforest ecology, wildlife ecology, climate change

Website

 

Jessica Black, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development and Tribal Management
University of Alaska Fairbanks

jcblack@alaska.edu

Website

 

Berill Blair, PhD

Postdoctoral Researcher, Environmental Policy Group
Wageningen University and Research

berill.blair@wur.nl

Research Interests: coastal governance, risks and resilience, climate change adaptation

Website

 

Brandon M. Boylan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Co-Director, Arctic & Northern Studies
University of Alaska Fairbanks

bmboylan@alaska.edu

Research Interests: International relations, security studies, ethnic politics

Website

 

Heather Brandon, M.M.A.

Director, Alaska Sea Grant
University of Alaska Fairbanks

Heather.brandon@alaska.edu

Research Interests: coastal communities, marine economies, fisheries

Website

 

Courtney Carothers, Ph.D.

Professor of Fisheries, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
University of Alaska Fairbanks

clcarothers@alaska.edu

Research Interests: anthropology, political ecology, environmental justice, human dimensions of fishery systems

Website

 

Margr├ęt Cela

Project Manager, Centre for Arctic Policy Studies
University of Iceland

mcela@hi.is

Research Interests:Arctic, Security, Policy, Geo Politics, Small States

Website

 

Terry Chapin, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Ecology, Department of Biology and Wildlife and Institute of Arctic Biology
University of Alaska Fairbanks

fschapiniii@alaska.edu

Research Interests: stewardship, climate change, Alaska communities, ecosystem ecology, resilience

Website

 

Douglas Cost, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor and Secondary Department Chair of Education
University of Alaska Fairbanks

dscost@alaska.edu

Research Interests: education, resilience, futures, social justice, youth, sustainability

Website

 

Keith Criddle, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
University of Alaska Fairbanks

kcriddle@alaska.edu

Website

 

Paula Cullenberg, Ph.D.

Professor emeritus, Alaska Sea Grant
University of Alaska Fairbanks

paula.cullenberg@alaska.edu

Website

 

Tracie Curry, Ph.D.

Owner and Principal Researcher
Northern Social-Environmental Research (NSER)

Affiliate Assistant Professor, International Arctic Research Center
University of Alaska Fairbanks

tracie@NorthernSER.com

Research Interests: knowledge co-production, place-based research, environmental governance, communication, boundary objects

Website

 

Hajo Eicken, Ph.D.

Professor of Geophysics, Department of Geosciences
Director, International Arctic Research Center
University of Alaska Fairbanks

heicken@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Sea ice, coasts, observing systems, international collaboration

Website

 

Quentin Fong, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
Seafood Marketing Specialist, Marine Advisory Program, Alaska Sea Grant
University of Alaska Fairbanks

qsfong@alaska.edu

Website

 

Sarah Hardy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
University of Alaska Fairbanks

smhardy@alaska.edu

Research Interests: marine ecology, benthos, marine invertebrates, sediments, marine food webs

Website

 

Alexander K. Hirsch, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Director of the Honors Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks

ahirsch@alaska.edu

Research Interests: indigenous politics, Arctic thought, environmental ethics

Website

 

Diane Hirshberg, Ph.D.

Professor of Education Policy, Institute of Social and Economic Research
Advisor to the Chancellor on Arctic Research and Education
University of Alaska Anchorage

International Arctic Social Sciences Association Council Member
Board Treasurer, Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.

dbhirshberg@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Circumpolar and Indigenous Education, Arctic Social Sciences

Website

 

Sarah Inman

PhD Candidate, Human-Centered Design and Engineering
University of Washington

sinman1@uw.edu

Research Interests: science and technology studies; fisheries management; salmon ecology

Website

 

Brendan Kelly, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Study of Environmental and Arctic Change, International Arctic Research Center
University of Alaska Fairbanks

Senior Fellow, Center for the Blue Economy
Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey

bpkelly@alaska.edu

Website

 

Brenda Konar, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
Associate Dean of Research, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
Director, Institute of Marine Science
Director, Coastal Marine Institute
University of Alaska Fairbanks

bhkonar@alaska.edu

Research Interests: coastal benthic ecology

Website

 

Steve Konkel, Ph.D.

Principal, Konkel & Associates
Visiting Adjunct Associate Professor of Environmental Health & Public Policy
University of Alaska Anchorage

 Steve.Konkel@gmail.com

Research Interests: Human Dimensions, Healthy Arctic Communities

Website

 

Olivia Lee, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, International Arctic Research Center
University of Alaska Fairbanks

oalee@alaska.edu

Research Interests: biology, ecology, fisheries and ocean science

Website

 

Chanda Meek, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science
University of Alaska Fairbanks

clmeek@alaska.edu

Research Interests: governance, Arctic, institutions, environment, resilience

Website

 

S. Bradley Moran, Ph.D.

Professor of Oceanography, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
Dean, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
University of Alaska Fairbanks

sbmoran@alaska.edu

Research Interests: oceanography, geochemistry, radioactivity

Website

 

Evon Peter

Rural, Community, and Native Education
University of Alaska Fairbanks

espeter@alaska.edu

 

Sunny Rice

Petersburg Marine Advisory Agent, Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks

sunny.rice@alaska.edu

Research Interests: outreach, extension, education, southeast Alaska, commercial fisheries, marine mammals

Website

 

Josephine-Mary (Josie) Sam, Ph.D.

Program Scientist, International Arctic Research Center
University of Alaska Fairbanks

josie.sam@alaska.edu

Research Interests: community development, sustainability, climate change

Website

 

Jennifer Schell, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of English
University of Alaska Fairbanks

jschell5@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Arctic literature, extinction studies

Website

 

William E. Schnabel, Ph.D., P.E.

Dean, College of Engineering and Mines
University of Alaska Fairbanks

weschnabel@alaska.edu

Website

 

Todd Sherman, M.F.A.

Professor, Department of Art
Dean, College of Liberal Arts
University of Alaska Fairbanks

tlsherman@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Artist, Painter, Creator, Wildlife, Portraits

Website

 

Walter Skya, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of History
Director, Asian Studies Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks

waskya@alaska.edu

Research Interests: modern Japanese intellectual history, political economy of modern East Asia, China in the Arctic, East Asian economic intellectual history

Website

 

Trent Sutton, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
Associate Dean of Academic Programs, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
Director of the Office of Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Activity (URSA)
University of Alaska Fairbanks

tmsutton@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Fisheries Biology, Population Ecology, Beaufort Sea Long-Term Nearshore Fisheries Monitoring Program, Stock Assessment

Website

 

Ralph Townsend, Ph.D.

Director, Institute of Social and Economic Research
University of Alaska Anchorage

retownsend01@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Fisheries economics

Website

 

Sarah Trainor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Social Ecological Systems Sustainability
Director, Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy
Director, Alaska Fire Science Consortium
University of Alaska Fairbanks

sarah.trainor@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Arctic climate impacts and adaptation, knowledge co-production, use-inspires basic science

Website

 

Pips Veazey, Ph.D.

Project Director, Alaska EPSCoR
University of Alaska Fairbanks

adveazey@alaska.edu

Research Interests: interdisciplinary team science leadership

Website