Faculty

Mary F. Ehrlander, Ph.D.

EhrlanderCo-director of Arctic and Northern Studies
Professor of History
University of Alaska Fairbanks
PO Box 756460
Fairbanks, AK 99775
907-474-6556
mfehrlander@alaska.edu

Ehrlander Curriculum Vitae (Word doc)

Courses taught by Dr. Ehrlander:

  • HIST 131/132 - History of the U.S.
  • NORS 201 - The Circumpolar North
  • HIST 404 - Modern Scandinavia
  • HIST 434 - Canada: 1867 - Present
  • HIST 483/NORS 683 - 20th Century Circumpolar History
  • HIST/NORS 600 - Perspectives on the North

Boylan

Brandon Boylan, Ph.D.

Co-director of Arctic and Northern Studies
Associate Professor of Political Science
University of Alaska Fairbanks
PO Box 756460
Fairbanks, AK 99775
907-474-6503
bmboylan@alaska.edu

Courses taught by Dr. Boylan:

  • PS 203 - Peace, War and Security
  • PS 323 - International Political Economy
  • NORS 601 - Research Methods/Sources in the North
  • NORS 652 - International Relations of the North
  • NORS 668 - Government and Politics of Russia

Cole

Terrence M. Cole, Ph.D.

Professor of History
P.O. Box 756460
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Fairbanks, AK 99775
tmcole@alaska.edu

Cole Curriculum Vitae (Word doc)

Courses taught by Dr. Cole:

  • HIST 100x - Modern World History
  • HIST/NORS 464/661 - History of Alaska
  • HIST/NORS 481/681 - Polar Exploration and its Literature
  • HIST/NORS 490/690 - Researching/Writing Northern History
 

Farmer

Daryl Farmer, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English
dlfarmer@alaska.edu

Courses taught:

  • Intermediate Fiction and Nonfiction Writing
  • Introduction to Creative Writing
  • Nature and Travel Writing
  • Graduate Writing Workshops
  • Forms of Nonfiction

Research specialties and interests:

Environmental Writing, Literature of the US West and Magical Realism


 

Heaton

John Heaton, Ph.D.

Professor of History
jwheaton2@alaska.edu

Courses taught:

  • History of Alaska Natives
  • American Film history

Research specialties and interests:

Native American economics and culture, Native American history


 

Heyne

Eric Heyne, Ph.D.

Professor of English
efheyne@alaska.edu
www.alaska.edu/english/people/faculty/heyne/

Courses taught:

  • Alaskan and Northern Canadian Literature
  • Images of the North

Research specialities and interests:

Alaskan and northern Canadian literature, American literature and critical theory


 

Hirsch

Alexander Hirsch, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science
ahirsch@alaska.edu

Courses taught:

  • U.S. Environmental Politics
  • Ethics in International Affairs

Research specialties and interests:

Moral conflicts generated over the meaning of public pain; aboriginal peoples living in Western settler societies


 

Jones

Zoƫ Marie Jones, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Art
zjones@alaska.edu

Courses taught:

  • Visual Images of the North
  • Alaska Native Art
  • Alaskan Field Artists

Research specialties:

20th Century art, immigrant artistic communities, art created in times of conflict


 

Lovecraft

Amy Lovecraft, Ph.D.

Professor of Political Science
allovecraft@alaska.edu

Courses taught:

  • Science, Technology and Politics
  • Government and Politics of Canada

Research specialties and interests:

Policy research: wildland fire, sea ice, marine mammals, freshwater systems & transnational environmental regimes; Environmental political theory addressing rapid change and the far North.


 

Meek

Chanda Meek, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science
clmeek@alaska.edu

Courses taught:

  • Arctic Politics and Governance
  • Government and Politics of Russia
  • US Environmental Politics

Research specialties and interests:

Resilience of Northern social-ecological systems, natural resource & environmental policy & politics, human dimensions of wildlife mgmt., indigenous-state power-sharing arrangements, cross-scale policy implementation


 

Ruppert

James Ruppert, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Alaska Native Studies
jkruppert@alaska.edu
www.alaska.edu/english/people/faculty/ruppert/

Courses taught:

  • Images of the North

Research specialties and interests:

Alaska Native Studies; Oral Narratives; Travel Narratives


 

Schell

Jennifer Schell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
jschell5@alaska.edu

Courses taught:

  • Literature of Alaska and the Yukon Territory

Research specialties and interests:

Alaskan maritime literature; science writing about arctic ecosystems; ecogothic literature; extinction narratives; animal studies; and print culture


Professor Emeritus

Judith S. Kleinfeld, Ph.D.

http://www.judithkleinfeld.com/

Gerald (Jerry) McBeath, Ph.D.

gamcbeath@alaska.edu

William Schneider, Ph.D.

wsschneider@alaska.edu