Faculty

Jamie L. Clark
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Michigan, 2009.

Paleolithic archaeology, modern human origins, hunter-gatherer lifeways, zooarchaeology. Southern Africa and the Near East.

312 Bunnell 

jlclark7@alaska.edu
907-474-5911

Elaine Drew
Assistant Professor

PhD, University of Kentucky, 2004.

Culturally-based health promotion and intervention research with AI/AN, Latino, and African-American communities; mixed methods research; research ethics review processes (institutional & community-based).

307C Bunnell 

emdrew@alaska.edu
907-474-6758

Brian Hemphill
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Oregon, 1991.

Dental Morphology, Odontometrics, Dental Pathology, Skeletal Biology, Biological Distance Analysis, Bioarchaeology, Human Evolution, South Asia, Central Asia, Great Basin, Northwest Coast

401 Bunnell 

bhemphill@alaska.edu
907-474-6755

Kara C. Hoover
Associate Professor
Associated Faculty, Chemistry and Biochemistry
PhD, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, 2001.

Evolutionary genetics & biology of olfaction, olfactory functioning in reconstructed hominin receptors, paleo-population biology (diet, nutrition, developmental stress), hunter-gatherers, Japan, UK, Eurasia.

404 Bunnell 

kchoover@alaska.edu
907-474-6110

David C. Koester
Professor
On sabbatical AY 2019-20

PhD, University of Chicago, 1990.

Culture and history, historical and national consciousness; anthropological study of insult and discursive manipulation of status; early history of ethnography; energy concepts and discourse; Iceland, Russian Far East, North Pacific, circumpolar.

307B Bunnell 

dckoester@alaska.edu
907-474-7133

Sveta Yamin-Pasternak PhD, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 2007.

Food and culture, ethnomycology, aesthetics, Circumpolar North, contemporary art, gender, post-Soviet studies

305B Bunnell 

syamin@alaska.edu
907-474-6188

Patrick Plattet
Associate Professor
Department Chair

PhD, University of Neuch√Ętel (Switzerland), 2005.

Ritual, anthropology of festive events, cultural resources documentation, ethnohistory, online teaching of ethnographic methods, Alaska/Kamchatka.

 307D Bunnell 

pplattet@alaska.edu
907-474-6608

Ben A. Potter
Professor
On leave AY 2019-20

PhD, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 2005.

Subarctic and Arctic archaeology; intersite variability; site structure and organization; human-environment interactions; field survey and excavation; cultural resource management; lithic and faunal analyses; geographic information systems.

308 Bunnell 

bapotter@alaska.edu
907-474-7567

Joshua D. Reuther
Curator of Archaeology, University of Alaska Museum of the North
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Arizona, 2013.

Subarctic and arctic archaeology; geoarchaeology; geochronology; hunter-gatherer ecology; archaeological science; museum studies; cultural resources management.

042 Museum of the North 

jreuther@alaska.edu
907-474-6945

Robin A. Shoaps
Associate Professor
On sabbatical AY 2019-20

PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara, 2004.

Linguistic anthropology, anthropology of Christianity, discourse analysis, self and subjectivity, ethnography of moralities, indigenous languages and cultures; Mesoamerica and the United States.

305B Bunnell 

rashoaps@alaska.edu
907-474-6884