UAF Chief Information Officer Search

CIO Search Update – June 25, 2019

With continued budget and organizational uncertainty, we are pausing the CIO search. President Johnsen decided to de-merge IT in April 2018, and we continue to work toward that end in collaboration with the UA System Office. We are continuing to work on defining a UAF IT structure similar to those at UAA and UAS. We appreciate the patience and continued hard work of the OIT team during this transition period.


Provide feedback on the candidates to the search committee.

About the Position

UAF’s Chief Information Officer (CIO) will provide technology vision and leadership for UAF’s information technology (IT) services. The CIO will:

  • Lead the university in planning information systems and technology to support both centralized and distributed academic, research, outreach and business operations to achieve effective and efficient IT operations at UAF’s campuses and other sites of operation;
  • Provide strategic planning and operational management of centrally provided services;
  • Coordinate with IT leadership across the University of Alaska system and serve as an advocate for UAF’s IT needs within the system, and
  • Work closely with the system CITO and UAF campus leadership to shape UAF’s new stand-alone IT unit.

A complete position description is available here.

UA-UAF IT Transition

The University of Alaska system is in the process of separating its system-wide IT functions (including most enterprise applications) from UAF’s IT services; these currently function as a merged unit. More information on this transition is available online here.


December 2018: Position advertised
February 15, 2019: Initial review of applicants
Early March 2019: First interviews
Late March/early April 2019: Campus visits for finalists

Search Committee

Search Chair: Brad Lobland, Human Resources Director
Gwen Bryson, Research Computing Systems Manager, Geophysical Institute
Gerry Domnick, Kuskokwim Campus LAN Manager
Mike Earnest, Registrar
Owen Guthrie, eCampus Acting Director
Orion Lawlor, CEM/CS Associate Professor
Adam Paulick, University of Alaska Anchorage CIO
Julie Queen, Associate Vice Chancellor for Financial Services
Keith Swarner, CTC Associate Director
Josh Watts, OIT Customer Support Services Manager
Committee Support: Kerynn Fisher, VCAS Executive Assistant