UAF Institutional Accreditation fell under a new process and standards in 2010-11 occuring on a seven-year cycle.

Seven-Year Cycle Reporting

The Year One Report, Standard One, identifies and communicates a clearly defined institutional mission and core themes within that mission. (Themes are simply the most important parts of the mission). "Institutions are expected to identify goals and intended outcomes, each with assessable indicators of achievement, for its mission and for [each of] its core themes. These indicators are the foundation for assessment of achievements and effectiveness". (NWCCU accreditation workshop materials)

The Mid-Cycle Evaluation , in the third year of the cycle, is intended to ascertain an institution’s readiness to provide evidence (outcomes) of mission fulfillment and sustainability in the Year Seven. It is to assist institutions in determining if the process of outcomes assessment will lead them to a successful Year Seven self-evaluation and peer evaluation. It is intended to be a formative and collegial evaluation with the institution in conversation with the evaluators.

The Year Seven Report includes all the standards and builds upon all of the previous work providing a summative evaluation of how well the University is fulfilling its mission, whether it can sustain its performance in the future, and whether and how it can adapt to change.

Current Update

The first Year One Report was submitted in September 2012.

The first Mid Cycle Report was submitted in September 2014.

The Year Seven Report will be due in September 2019.

Back to Top