People

Sine Anahita
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

702B Gruening Bldg
907.474.6515
sine.anahita@alaska.edu
Organized inequalities; gender, sex and sexuality; feminist movements; lesbian cultures; masculinities; rural Alaska infrastructure and water inequalities.

Gerri Brightwell
Professor, Department of English

822 Gruening Bldg
907.474.5209
gabrightwell@alaska.edu 
Creative writing, fiction; Victorian literature, domestic roles of women; neo-Victorian literature.

Chris Coffman
Professor, Department of English

824 Gruening Bldg
907.474.5233
cecoffman@alaska.edu 
Comparative Literature; Gender Studies; Psychoanalytic, feminist, and queer analysis of twentieth and twenty-first century literature, visual art, and film from Great Britain, continental Europe, and the United States.

 Diana Di Stefano
Associate Professor, Department of History
604C Gruening Bldg
907.474.6998
dldistefano@alaska.edu 
History of the American West, environment and disasters

Nicole Dufour
Staff Council Secretary

314 Signers’ Hall
907.474.7056
nmdufour@alaska.edu
UAF Governance Office

Mary Ehrlander
Director of Northern Studies

Professor of Northern Studies
613B Gruening Building
907.474.6556
mfehrlander@alaska.edu
Arctic and Northern Studies

Alexandra Fitts
Dean of General Studies
Professor, Spanish

316 Signers' Hall
907.474.6253
affitts@alaska.edu
Spanish and Latin American women writers  

Valerie Gifford 
Assistant Professor, Counseling, School of Education
707A Gruening Bldg
907.474.7631
vmgifford@alaska.edu
Psychology of women.    
 

Carol Gold
Professor Emeritus
604B Gruening Bldg
907.474.7126
cgold@alaska.edu
Women's history, education of girls, history of food and cookbooks

Andrea Greenberg
Term Assistant Professor, Department of  Psychology
705C Gruening Bldg
907.474.5411
argreenberg@alaska.edu
Human sexualities across cultures

Eileen Harney
Assistant Professor, Department of English
858 Gruening Bldg.
907.474.5996
 
 
Dr. Alexander Keller Hirsch
Associate Professor of Political Science
601 B Gruening Building
ahirsch@alaska.edu
Ethics, aesthetics, politics
 
Maureen Hogan

Associate Professor, School of Education
708B Gruening Bldg
907.474.6474
mphogan@alaska.edu
Gender and schooling, gender and identity, gender and discourse, gender and media, masculinities, GLBT youth, sex education

Zoe Jones
Term Assistant Professor, Department of Art
302 Arts Building Bldg.
907.474.7726
zjones@alaska.edu
Art History, Women in Art History
 
Paul  Krejci

Term Assistant Professor, Department of Music
221 Fine Arts
907.474.1904
prkrejci@alaska.edu
Music History, Women in Music History, Music Theory, Alaska Native Music

Amy May
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication
503G Gruening Bldg.
907.474.6591
Social construction of parenthood and motherhood narrative, surrogacy, contrapower. Gender and Communication.
 

Rosemarie Plaetke
Adjunct Associate Professor, Anthropology
310 Eielson Bldg.
907.750.5375
rplaetke@yahoo.com

Jean  Richey

Assistant Professor, Communication (retired)
603 Gruening Bldg (until 12/21/15)
jarichey@alaska.edu 
Health Communication, Organizational Communication, Phenomenology and Qualitative Methodology, Interpersonal and Relational Communication, Critical Approaches to Gender Communication, Intercultural Communication, and Communication Theory.

Robin Shoaps
Assistant Professor, Anthropology & Linguistics
305 B Bunnell Bldg.
907.474.6884
rashoaps@alaska.edu
Language and gender; kinship

Jeremy Speight
Assistant Professor of Political Science
602A Gruening Building
907.474-6505
jspeight@alaska.edu

Sarah Stanley
Director of Composition
812 Gruening Bldg
909.474.7335
English Department
sstanley2@alaska.edu

Kayt Sunwood
Instructor 
702 Gruening
907.474.5494
kayt.sunwood@alaska.edu

Back to Top