People

Sine Anahita
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

702C Gruening Bldg
907.474.6515
sine.anahita@alaska.edu
Organized inequalities; gender, sex and sexuality; feminist movements and organizations; lesbian cultures and communities (especially the landdyke movement); masculinities; rural Alaska infrastructure, especially water inequalities.

James Bicigo
Associate Professor, Department of Music
207 Fine Arts Bldg
907.474.5906
jmbicigo@alaska.edu
Low Brass

Gerri Brightwell
Professor, Department of English

822 Gruening Bldg
907.474.5209
gabrightwell@alaska.edu 
Creative writing, fiction; Victorian literature, especially the domestic roles of women; neo-Victorian literature. From her biography: I teach in the English Department, primarily in the creative writing program. I have a PhD in literature from the University of Minnesota, where I studied the role of servants in crime fiction, an MFA in creative writing from UAF, and an MA in creative writing from the University of East Anglia (UK). I have taught ENGL/WGS 333 Women's Literature with a variety of topics, mostly recently exploring detective fiction and (in fall 2014) 21st C women's "weird" writing. I have two published novels: The Dark Lantern and Cold Country, plus many stories and essays in literary journals. My latest novel, Dead of Winter, will be published spring 2016.

Chris Coffman
Professor, Department of English

824 Gruening Bldg
907.474.5233
cecoffman@alaska.edu 
https://sites.google.com/a/alaska.edu/chris-coffman/

Gender and sexuality in modernist literature; feminist and queer theory

Diana Di Stefano
Associate Professor, Department of History
604C Gruening Bldg
907.474.6998
dldistefano@alaska.edu 
History of the American West, environment and disasters

Nicole Dufour
Staff Council Secretary

314 Signers’ Hall
907.474.7056
nmdufour@alaska.edu
UAF Governance Office

Mary Ehrlander
Director of Northern Studies

Professor of Northern Studies
613B Gruening Building
907.474.6556
mfehrlander@alaska.edu
Arctic and Northern Studies

Alexandra Fitts
Dean of General Studies
Professor, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures

316 Signers' Hall
907.474.6253
affitts@alaska.edu
Spanish and Latin American women writers    

Carol Gold
Professor Emeritus
604B Gruening Bldg
907.474.7126
cgold@alaska.edu
Women's history, education of girls, history of food and cookbooks

 Karen Gustafson
Associate Professor, Department of Music
Coordinator, Women's and Gender Studies Program
209 Fine Arts Bldg
907.474.5004
kagustafson2@alaska.edu
Trumpet; Director of the Wind Symphony

Eileen Harney
Assistant Professor, Department of English
814 Gruening Bldg.
907.474.5996
 
Maureen Hogan

Associate Professor, School of Education
712B Gruening Bldg
907.474.6474
mphogan@alaska.edu
Gender and schooling, gender and identity, gender and discourse, gender and media, masculinities, GLBT youth, sex education

Ross Imbler
Annual Giving Director
4001 Geist Rd, Suite 6 West Valley Plaza
Development and Alumni
rmimbler@alaska.edu

Trina Mamoon
Associate Professor, Department of Foreign Languages & Literature
608A Gruening Bldg
907.474.5460
trmamoon@alaska.edu
Russian Women Writers, Film Studies and Russian Cinema

Rosemarie Plaetke
Adjunct Associate Professor, Anthropology
310 Eielson Bldg.
907.750.5375
rplaetke@yahoo.com

Robin Shoaps
Assistant Professor, Anthropology & Linguistics
305 B Bunnell Bldg.
907.474.6884
rashoaps@alaska.edu
Language and gender; kinship

Lynne Snifka
Associate Professor, Department of Journalism
105B Bunnell Bldg
907.474.6245
lsnifka@alaska.edu

Sarah Stanley
Director of Composition
812 Gruening Bldg
909.474.7335
English Department
sstanley2@alaska.edu

Kayt Sunwood
Instructor 
219 Eielson
907.474.1949
kayt.sunwood@alaska.edu

Back to Top