People

Sine Anahita
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

Chair, Sociology
702C Gruening Bldg
907.474.6515
sine.anahita@alaska.edu
Organized inequalities; gender, sex and sexuality; feminist movements and organizations; lesbian cultures and communities (especially the landdyke movement); masculinities; rural Alaska infrastructure, especially water inequalities.

James Bicigo
Associate Professor, Department of Music
207 Fine Arts Bldg
907.474.5906
jmbicigo@alaska.edu
Low Brass

Geraldine Brightwell
Associate Professor, Department of English

822 Gruening Bldg
907.474.5209
gabrightwell@alaska.edu
Creative writing, fiction; Victorian literature, especially the domestic roles of women; neo-Victorian literature. From her biography: I teach in the English Department, primarily in the creative writing program. I have a Ph.D. in literature from the University of Minnesota, where I studied the role of servants in crime fiction. I have taught ENGL/WGS 333 Women's Literature with a variety of topics, mostly recently exploring detective fiction and (in fall 2014) 21st C women's "weird" writing. I have two published novels: The Dark Lantern and Cold Country, plus many stories and essays in literary journals.

Diane DiStefano
Associate Professor, Department of History
907.474.6998
dldistefano@alaska.edu 
History of the American West, environment and disasters

Chris Coffman
Associate Professor, Department of English

824 Gruening Bldg
907.474.5233
cecoffman@alaska.edu                                                                                                                                             https://sites.google.com/a/alaska.edu/chris-coffman/
Gender and sexuality in modernist literature; feminist and queer theory

Alexandra Fitts
Professor, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Coordinator, Women’s Studies Program
609A Gruening Bldg
907.474.7980
affitts@alaska.edu
Spanish and Latin American women writers    

Carol Gold
Professor, Department of History, Emeritus
907.474.6509
cgold@alaska.edu
Women's history, education of girls, history of food and cookbooks

Mary Goodwin
Associate Professor, Department of Art
303 Fine Arts Bldg
907.474.7726
mary.goodwin@alaska.edu

Karen Grossweiner
Assistant Professor, Department of English
864 Gruening Bldg
907.474.5012
kgrosswe@alaska.edu
Women's literature and feminist film studies

Karen Gustafson
Associate Professor, Department of Music
209 Fine Arts Bldg
907.474.5004
kagustafson2@alaska.edu
Trumpet; Director of the Wind Symphony

Ellen Harney
Assistant Professor, Department of English
814 Gruening Bldg.
907.474.5996
 

Maureen Hogan
Associate Professor, School of Education
712B Gruening Bldg
907.474.6474
mphogan@alaska.edu
Gender and schooling, gender and identity, gender and discourse, gender and media, masculinities, GLBT youth, sex education

Trina Mamoon
Associate Professor, Chair, Department of Foreign Languages & Literature; 608A Gruening Bldg
907.474.5460
trmamoon@alaska.edu
Russian Women Writers, Film Studies and Russian Cinema

Jean Richey
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication
503B Gruening Bldg
907.474.7405
jarichey@alaska.edu

Robin Shoaps
Assistant Professor, Anthropology & Linguistics
305 B Bunnell Bldg.
907.474.6884

Language and gender; kinship

Lynne Snifka
Assistant Professor, Department of Journalism
105B Bunnell Bldg
907.474.6245
lsnifka@alaska.edu

Kayt Sunwood
Coordinator, Women's Center
130 Wood Center
907.474.6311
kayt.sunwood@alaska.edu

Back to Top