Vision Task Force Final Report:

Shaping the Future of UAF


Vision Task Force
Front (left to right) Jo Heckman, Jake Poole; Back (left to right) Kevin Hostler, Steve Jones, Paul Reichardt

Vision Task Force

  • Steve Jones, Chancellor, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Jake Poole, Vice Chancellor for University Advancement, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Jo Heckman (Chair), President/CEO Denali State Bank, Fairbanks, AK
  • Kevin Hostler (Chair), President, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co., Anchorage, AK
  • Paul Reichardt (Director), Former Provost, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
Vision Task Force, Teaching and Learning for Student Success
Front (left to right) Marilyn Romano, Helga Watterson, Cathy Cahill; Back (left to right) Wayne Don, Gail Phillips, Lincoln Saito, Rick Caulfiel

Teaching and Learning for Student Success

  • Cathy Cahill, Associate Professor, Chemistry, Geophysical Institute, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Rick Caulfield, (Chair) Director, Tanana Valley Campus, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Wayne Don, Director, South Central Foundation, Anchorage, AK
  • Sandra Elman, President, Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities Redmond, WA
  • Gail Phillips, Former Speaker of the State House; Member UAF Alumni Association Board of Directors, Anchorage, AK
  • Wendy Redman, VP, University Relations, University of Alaska Statewide, Fairbanks, AK
  • Marilyn Romano, (Chair) Publisher, Fairbanks Daily News-Miner, Fairbanks, AK
  • Lincoln Saito, Director, UAF Chukchi Campus, Kotzebue, AK
  • Helga Watterson, Owner, Watterson Construction Co., Anchorage, AK
Vision Task Force, Research and Scholarship
Front (left to right) Larry Hinzman, John Davies; Back (left to right) Judy Kleinfeld, Roger Ruess, Frank Williams, Ethan Berkowitz

Research and Scholarship

  • Ethan Berkowitz, (Chair) Former Legislator; Business Owner, Anchorage, AK
  • Doug Causey, Vice Provost, Research UAA, Anchorage, AK
  • John Davies, Research Director , Cold Climate Housing Research Center; President,
    UAF Alumni Board of Directors, Fairbanks, AK
  • Doug DeMaster, Director, Alaska Fisheries Science Center, NOAA, Seattle, WA
  • Larry Hinzman, (Chair) Director, International Arctic Research Center, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Judy Kleinfeld, Director, Northern Studies, College of Liberal Arts, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Eric McDowell, President, McDowell Group, Juneau, AK
  • Roger Ruess, Professor, Plant Ecology, Institute of Arctic Biology, Fairbanks, AK
  • Bill Streever, Environmental Studies Leader, BP Exploration (Alaska) Anchorage, AK
  • Frank Williams, Director, Arctic Region Supercomputing Center, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
Vision Task Force, Enrollment and Retention
Front (left to right) Stephanie Butler, Lydia Anderson; Back (left to right) Jeff Cook, Sharon McConnell Gillis, Kevin Huddy

Enrollment and Retention

  • Lydia Anderson, Director, UAF Wood Center, Fairbanks, AK
  • Stephanie Butler, Director of Operations, Alaska Postsecondary Education Commission, Juneau, AK
  • Jeff Cook, (Chair) VP, External Affairs, Flint Hills Resources, North Pole, AK
  • Scott Deal, Associate Professor, Music, College of Liberal Arts, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Sven Gilkey, President, Associated Students of University of Alaska Fairbanks (ASUAF) Fairbanks, AK
  • Kevin Huddy, (Chair) Director, Residence Life, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Sharon McConnell Gillis, Executive Director, Doyon Foundation, Fairbanks, AK
  • Ann Shortt, Superintendent, Fairbanks North Star Borough School District, Fairbanks, AK
  • Ed Thomas, President, Tlingit-Haida Central Council, Juneau, AK
Vision Task Force, Eommunity Engagement and Economic Development
Front (left to right) Roxie Dinstel, Arliss Sturgulewski; Back (left to right) Willie Karidis, Ann Ringstad, Patrick Lee

Community Engagement and Economic Development

  • Roxie Dinstel, Professor & Extension Agent, Cooperative Extension Service, UAF Fairbanks, AK
  • Kathryn Dodge, Director, Economic Development, Fairbanks North Star Borough Fairbanks, AK
  • Willie Karidis, Director, Denali Education Center, Denali, AK
  • Patrick Lee, Associate Director of Athletics, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Ann Ringstad, (Chair) Associate Vice Chancellor for University Relations, UAF Fairbanks, AK
  • Brian Rogers, (Chair) Principal Consultant, Information Insights, Fairbanks, AK
  • Jim Sampson, President, Alaska AFL-CIO, Fairbanks, AK
  • Helvi Sandvik, President, NANA Corporation, Anchorage, AK
  • Arliss Sturgulewski, Former Alaska State Senator; Community Leader, Anchorage, AK
Vision Task Force, Advancement and Philanthropy
Front (left to right) Mike Powers, Grace Schaible, Judyth Wier; Back (left to right) Naomi Horne, Emily Drygas, James Huesmann, Aldona Jonaitis, Carla Beam

Advancement and Philanthropy

  • Carla Beam, Director, Community Affairs, BP Exploration (Alaska) Anchorage, AK
  • James Huesmann, Dean, Rasmuson Library, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Aldona Jonaitis, Director, UA Museum of the North, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Laura Milner, Professor, School of Management, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Mike Powers, (Chair) CEO, Denali Center/Fairbanks Memorial Hospital, Fairbanks, AK
  • Mary Rutherford, President, University of Alaska Foundation, Fairbanks, AK
  • Grace Schaible, Former Alaska Attorney General; Community Leader, Fairbanks, AK
  • Judyth Wier, (Chair) Associate Vice Chancellor for Development, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
Vision Task Force, Faculty and Staff Development
Front (left to right) Michelle Renfrew, Carol Lewis; Back (left to right) Deb Horner, Shirish Patil, Jeff Stepp, Gene Peltola

Faculty and Staff Development

  • Joe Beedle, Sr. Vice President, Northrim Bank, Anchorage, AK
  • Steve Haagenson, (Chair) President, Golden Valley Electric Association, Fairbanks, AK
  • Andrew Halcro, President, Avis Car Rentals; Former Alaska State Legislator, Anchorage, AK
  • Deb Horner, University Planner, Provost Office, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Carol Lewis, Dean, School of Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences, UAF Fairbanks, AK
  • Shirish Patil, Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering, College of Engineering & Mines, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
  • Gene Peltola, President, Yukon Kuskokwim Health Corporation, Bethel, AK
  • Jeff Stepp, (Chair) Coordinator, Student Activities, Wood Center, UAF, Fairbanks, AK
Back to Top