About Our Faculty and Staff

 

Dr. Ben A. Potter

Professor and Department Chair

303A Bunnell Building

bapotter@alaska.edu

907-474-7567

Dr. Potter is an anthropological archaeologist. Visit his site here for information about his research and teaching interests https://sites.google.com/a/alaska.edu/dr-ben-a-potter/

 

Dr. Sine Anahita

photo of Dr. Sine Anahita, Alaska's fiddling sociologist

Associate Professor in Sociology

702B Gruening
907-474-6515

sine.anahita@alaska.edu

Dr. Anahita teaches and researches organized inequalities--how organizations, states, and institutions organize social inequality based on race, class, sex, sexuality, gender, age, spatiality, looks, dis/ability, and other markers of difference. Dr. A is Alaska's fiddling sociologist, and is the Chapter Representative for Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD), the international sociology honor society.

Visit Dr. Anahita's website

 

Maureen Biermann, ABD

Adjunct Instructor

702 Gruening

907-474-5494

mmbiermann@alaska.edu

Maureen Biermann will be teaching SOC 100X Individual, Culture, and Society, this fall while she finished up her disseration on climate change for the Department of Geography at Pennsylvania State University. Sociology is so lucky that she will be teaching for us this Fall!

 

Nicole Dufour, MA

Adjunct Instructor

702 Gruening

907-474-5494

nmdufour@alaska.edu

Nicole Dufour holds her master's in Anthropology and is purusing a PhD in Linguistic Anthropology at UAF. She will be teaching SOC 201 Social Problems and Solutions in Fall 2016. Happy to have her here!

 

Melanie Lindholm, MA

Adjunct Instructor

702 Gruening

907-474-5494

mmlindholm@alaska.edu

Melanie Lindholm is a recent graduate of UAF's Arctic and Northern Studies Program. She wrote her thesis on foodways among Alaska Natives. This Fall, she teach SOC 100X, our most popular class. Welcome to Melanie Lindholm!

 

Kayt Sunwood, PhD

Adjunct Instructor

702 Gruening

907-474-5494

kayt.sunwood@alaska.edu

Dr. Kayt Sunwood earned her PhD in Curriculum and Instructional Technology from Iowa State University. She will be teaching the eLearning section of SOC 100X for Fall 2016, as well as teaching SOC 100X for UAF's Community and Technology College at the downtown campus. Dr. Sunwood also teaches courses in the Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Program at UAF.

 

Patty Seifert

Administrative Assistant

702 Gruening

907-474-5494

plseifert@alaska.edu

Ms. Seifert is our Administrative Assistant. She loves to help students locate the resources they need. She can help you with general inquiries about the department, assist you in finding an adviser, or tell you the location of your professor's office.

 
Back to Top