Faculty & Staff Directory


SNRE Office of the Dean

Childress

Childress, Marilyn

907-474-7083;
907-474-6567 (fax)

uaf-snras@alaska.edu

Assistant to the Dean & Director

Cushing

Cushing, Deb

907-474-5550

deb.cushing@alaska.edu

Research & Academic Program Assistant

Sparrow

Sparrow, Stephen

907-474-7670

sdsparrow@alaska.edu

Professor,
Interim Dean & Director, SNRE/AFES

Westphal

Westphal, Martha

907-474-5276

mmwestphal@alaska.edu

Enrollment and Administrative Coordinator

Akasofu Building

Rupp

Rupp, Scott

907-474-7535

tsrupp@alaska.edu

SNAP Director, Professor of Forestry

E. Sparrow

Sparrow, Elena

907-474-7699

ebsparrow@alaska.edu

Professor of Resources Management

Arctic Health Research Building

Blodgett

Blodgett, Darrell

907-474-7516

dsblodgett@alaska.edu

IS System Technician

Finstad

Finstad, Greg

907-474-6055

glfinstad@alaska.edu

Manager, Reindeer Research Program,
Research Associate Professor

photo not available

Hollingsworth, Jamie

907-474-7470

jamie.hollingsworth@alaska.edu

Site Manager, Bonanza Creek LTER

photo not available

Hollingsworth, Teresa

907-474-2424

tnhollingsworth@alaska.edu

Research Ecologist

Juday

Juday, Glenn

907-474-6717;
907-474-5395 (lab)

gpjuday@alaska.edu

Professor of Forest Ecology

Karlsson

Karlsson, Meriam

907-474-7005;
907-474-1538 (fax)

mgkarlsson@alaska.edu

Professor of Horticulture,
Department Chair: High Latitude Agriculture

Kofinas

Kofinas, Gary

907-474-7078

gary.kofinas@alaska.edu

Professor of Resource Policy & Management

McBeath

McBeath, Jenifer

907-474-7431;
907-474-6099 (fax)

jhmcbeath@alaska.edu

Professor of Plant Pathology/Biotechnology

Robinette

Robinette, Jennifer

907-474-5449

jmpoindexter@alaska.edu

Program Coordinator, Reindeer Research Program

picture not provided

Sfraga, Mike

474-2600

mssfraga@alaska.edu

Associate Professor of Arctic Policy

Fairbanks Experiment Farm

Aguiar

Aguiar, George

907-474-6937

gaaguiar@alaska.edu

Research Coordinator

photo not available

Ashlock, Charles

907-474-1974

ceashlock@alaska.edu

Maintanance Service Worker

photo not available

Buchholz, Kathleen

907-474-7222

krbuchholz@alaska.edu

Administrative Assistant, Georgeson Botanical Garden

Carr

Carr, Erin

907-474-5449

elcarr@alaska.edu

Reindeer Research Program Animal Caretaker/Research Technician

photo not available

DiCristina, Katherine

907-474-6921

kmdicristina@alaska.edu

Research Technician, Georgeson Botanical Garden

Holloway

Holloway, Patricia

907-474-7222;
907-474-1841 (fax)

psholloway@alaska.edu

Professor of Horticulture,
Director, Georgeson Botanical Garden

Stevens

Stevens, Matt

907-474-7079

mstevens2@alaska.edu

Research Forester

photo not available

Thomas, Dave

907-474-1974

dbthomas@alaska.edu

Crafts & Trade 1

Tonne

Tonne, Alan

907-474-7627;
907-474-1974

awtonne@alaska.edu

Farm Manager

Matanuska Experiment Farm (MEF)

Barber, Val

907-746-9466

vabarber@alaska.edu

Assistant Professor of Forest Sciences & Director, UAF Forest Products Program

photo not available

Barton, Keith

907-841-0745 (mobile)

kgbarton@alaska.edu

Electrician

Cronin

Cronin, Matt

907-222-1753

croninm@aol.com

Research Associate Professor of Animal Genetics

Dick

Dick, Melissa

907-746-9484

mldick@alaska.edu

Laboratory Technician

photo not available

Ericksen, Jim

907-745-4866

jlericksen@alaska.edu

Maintenance Mechanic

photo not available

Hall, Beth

907-746-9483

bahall@alaska.edu

Research Technician

Harris

Harris, Norman

907-232-5732 (mobile)

nrharris@alaska.edu

Administrator, Matanuska Experiment Farm,
Associate Professor of Range Management

Issac

Issac, Theresa

907-746-9450

tmisaac@alaska.edu

Administrative Assistant

Johnson

Johnson, Brian

907-232-4062

bsjohnson3@alaska.edu

Farm Crew

photo not available

Michaelson, Gary

907-746-9491

gjmichaelson@alaska.edu

Research Associate

no photo provided

Palmer, Deb

No Phone Available

djpalmer@alaska.edu

Research Aide

Ping

Ping, Chien-Lu

907-746-9462;
907-232-4349 (mobile)

cping@alaska.edu

Professor of Soil Sciences

Shepard, Angela Freeman

907-746-9481

ajfreemanshephard@alaska.edu 

Farm Superintendent
photo not available

Wilson, Laurie

907-746-9482

lawilson@alaska.edu

Laboratory Manager

O'Neill Building

Brigham

Brigham, Lawson

O'Neill 366

907-474-7763

lawson.brigham@alaska.edu

Distinguished Professor of Geography & Arctic Policy

Dawe

Dawe, Jan

907-474-5907

jan.dawe@alaska.edu

Assistant Research Professor

Fix

Fix, Peter

907-474-6926

pjfix@alaska.edu

Associate Professor of Outdoor Recreation Management

Greenberg

Greenberg, Joshua

907-474-7189

jagreenberg@alaska.edu


Associate Professor of Resource Economics, Department Chair: Humans and the Environment

Joly

Joly, Julie Lurman

907-474-6794

julie.joly@alaska.edu

Associate Professor of Resources Law and Policy

Zachary Meyers

No Phone Available

zjmeyers@alaska.edu

Instructional Designer

Oliver

Oliver, Lola

907-474-7114

lkoliver@alaska.edu

Forest Soils Lab Supervisor

photo not available

Ranft, Richard

907-474-7467

rdranft@alaska.edu

Research Technician II

Robertson

Robertson, Matthew

907-474-7114

mrober57@alaska.edu

Field Technician

Rowell

Rowell, Jan

907-474-6009

jerowell@alaska.edu

Research Assistant Professor

picture not provided

Frost, Shalane

No Phone Available

scarlson3@alaska.edu

Research Technician

Shipka

Shipka, Milan

907-474-7429

mpshipka@alaska.edu

Professor of Animal Science,
Extension Livestock Specialist,
Associate Director of the Agricultural & Forestry Experiment Station

photo not available

Todd, Susan

907-474-6930

sktodd@alaska.edu

Associate Professor of Resource Planning

photo not provided

Trainor, Sarah

907-474-7878

sarah.trainor@alaska.edu

Assistant Professor of Social Ecological Systems Sustainability

Valentine

Valentine, David

907-474-7614

dvalentine@alaska.edu

Professor of Forest Soils

Verbyla

Verbyla, David

907-474-5553

dlverbyla@alaska.edu

Professor of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in Natural Resources

Van Veldhuizen

Van Veldhuizen, Bob

907-474-5222

rmvanveldhuizen@alaska.edu

Research Assistant
Research Technician

Yarie

Yarie, John

907-474-5650

jayarie@alaska.edu

Professor of Silviculture,
Department Chair: Forest Sciences

photo not available

Zhang, Mingchu

907-474-7004

mzhang3@alaska.edu

Professor of Agronomy/Soil Sciences

SNRE Business Office

Dewey, Adam

907-474-2734

aldewey@alaska.edu

Travel Coordinator

Chambers, Nicole

907-474-6353

nicole.chambers@alaska.edu

Grant Fiscal Officer

Gibson

Gibson, Martin

907-474-6351

mpgibson@alaska.edu

Accounting Technician

Gonzalez

Gonzalez, Debbie

907-474-7269

dgonzalez@alaska.edu

Fiscal Technician

Lincoln

Lincoln, Sabrina

907-474-6352

sabrina.lincoln@alaska.edu

HR technician

Peterson

Peterson, Steve

907-474-7053

slpeterson@alaska.edu

IS Technician

Pope

Pope, Michelle

907-474-7935

mlpope@alaska.edu

Executive Officer

SNRE Communications Unit

picture not available

Carter, Debbie

907-474-5406

dscarter@alaska.edu

Editor/Writer

picture not available

Fay, Jeff

907-474-5349

jeff.fay@alaska.edu

Media Specialist

Helfferich

Helfferich, Deirdre

907-474-6923

dahelfferich@alaska.edu

AFES Managing Editor

picture not available

Morton, Mallory

907-474-6363

memorton2@alaska.edu

Web Specialist

picture not available

Paul, Katrina

907-474-5116

klpaul@alaska.edu

Office Coordinator

picture not available

Sparks, Juella

907-474-7115

juella.sparks@alaska.edu

Manager

picture not available

Springer, Martha

907-474-7268

mispringer@alaska.edu

Layout/Editor

Tarnai

Tarnai, Nancy

907-474-5042

ntarnai@alaska.edu

Public Information Officer

Emeriti

photo not available

Carling, Donald

Professor of Horticulture, Emeritus

photo not available

Epps, Alan

Professor of Natural Resources, Emeritus

Fox

Fox, John

jdfox@alaska.edu

Associate Professor of Land Resources, Emeritus

photo not available

Gasbarro, Anthony

afgasbarro@alaska.edu

Associate Professor of Forestry Extension, Emeritus

photo not available

Husby, Fredric

Professor of Animal Science, Dean, Emeritus

photo not available

Jubenville, Alan

Professor of Resource Management, Emeritus

photo not available

Knight, Charles

Associate Professor of Agronomy, Emeritus

Lewis

Lewis, Carol

celewis@alaska.edu

Professor of Resource Management, Dean, Emeritus

photo not available

McKendrick, Jay

Professor of Agronomy, Emeritus

photo not available

Mitchell, William

Professor of Agronomy, Emeritus

photo not available

Packee, Edmond

Professor of Forest Management, Emeritus

photo not available

Restad, Sigmund

Assistant Director of AFES, Emeritus

photo not available

Van Cleve, Keith

Professor of Forestry, Emeritus

photo not available

Weeden, Robert

Professor of Resource Management, Emeritus

Back to Top