Northern Studies Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Northern Studies Program
613B Gruening Building

Phone: +1 907 474 7126
FAX: +1 907 474 5817
Email: mfehrlander@alaska.edu

Faculty

Mary F. Ehrlander, Ph.D.

Director of Northern Studies
Professor of History
University of Alaska Fairbanks
PO Box 756460
Fairbanks, AK 99775
907-474-6556
mfehrlander@alaska.edu


Courses taught by Dr. Mary F. Ehrlander

HIST 131/132

History of the United States
NORS 293The Circumpolar North: An Introductory Overview

HIST 404

Modern Scandinavia
HIST 434Canada: 1867 – Present
HIST/NORS 48320th Century Circumpolar History
NORS/HIST 600

Perspectives on the North

Terrence M. Cole, Ph.D.

Professor of History
Director, Office of Public History
P.O. Box 756460
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Fairbanks, AK 99775
tmcole@alaska.edu


Courses taught by Dr. Terrence M. Cole

History 100X

Modern World History

HIST 461/NORS 661

History of Alaska

HIST 481/NORS 681Polar Exploration and its Literature
HIST 490/NORS 690Researching and Writing Northern History


Professor Emeritus

Judith S. Kleinfeld, Ph.D.

http://www.judithkleinfeld.com/


Gerald (Jerry) McBeath, Ph. D.

gamcbeath@alaska.edu

NORS Affiliated Faculty

Brandon Boylan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
bmboylan@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Government and Politics of Russia

Research specialties and interests: International relations, international security, political violence, terrorism, and ethnic conflict.

Diana Di Stefano, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
dldistefano@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Environmental History

Research specialties and interests: Environmental, American West, and Disaster history

Mary Goodwin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Art History
mcgoodwin@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Visual Images of the North

Research specialties and interests: Artist of Alaska

John Heaton, Ph.D.
Professor of History and Executive Director of the Western History Association
jwheaton2@alaska.edu

Courses taught: History of Alaska Natives

Research specialties and interests: Native American history

Eric Heyne, Ph.D.
Professor of English
efheyne@alaska.edu
www.alaska.edu/english/people/faculty/heyne/

Courses taught: Alaskan and Northern Canadian Literature; Images of the North

Research specialities and interests: Alaskan and northern Canadian literature, American literature and critical theory

Alexander Hirsch, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Political Science
ahirsch@alaska.edu

Courses in the works: The Politics of Failure; Feminist Theory; and the Politics of the Possible: Active Citizenship and Everyday Life.

Research specialties and interests: Moral conflicts generated over the meaning of public pain; aboriginal peoples living in Western settler societies

Brian Kassof, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
bkassof@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Imperial Russia 1700-1917; Soviet and Post-Soviet Russia

Amy Lovecraft, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
allovecraft@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Science, Technology and Politics; Government and Politics of Canada

Research specialties and interests: Policy research: wildland fire, sea ice, marine mammals, freshwater systems & transnational environmental regimes; Environmental political theory addressing rapid change and the far North.

Chanda Meek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
clmeek@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Arctic Politics and Governance; Government and Politics of Russia; US Environmental Politics

Research specialties and interests: Resilience of Northern social-ecological systems, natural resource & environmental policy & politics, human dimensions of wildlife mgmt., indigenous-state power-sharing arrangements, cross-scale policy implementation

Jonathan Rosenberg, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
jrosenberg@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Political Economy of the Global Environment

Research specialties and interests: The politics of environmentally sustainable development; stakeholder participation in environmental management; foreign aid and the environment; political economy of oil in Alaska

James Ruppert, Ph.D.
Professor of English and Alaska Native Studies
jkruppert@alaska.edu
www.alaska.edu/english/people/faculty/ruppert/

Courses taught: Images of the North

Research specialties and interests: Alaska Native Studies; Oral Narratives; Travel Narratives

Jennifer Schell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of English
jschell5@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Literature of Alaska and the Yukon Territory

Research specialties and interests: Alaskan maritime literature; science writing about arctic ecosystems; ecogothic literature; extinction narratives; animal studies; and print culture

William Schneider, Ph.D.
Curator of Oral History, Professor
wsschneider@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Oral Sources; independent studies

Research specialties and interests: Cultural Anthropology; Ethnohistory; Alaska history; Oral history; Oral narrative

Peter Schweitzer, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology
ppschweitzer@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Northern Indigenous Peoples and Contemporary Issues

Research specialties and interests: Viability of northern communities under conditions of climate change; History and indigenous identity in the North; Movement of people & ideas in & out of the Arctic